Selected databases
- Egyptological bibliography, 1822-1997 CD-ROM (available from the information desk in the Matheson Library) Compiles bibliographical references from the Annual Egyptological bibliography and Christine Beinlich's Bibliographie Altgypten 1822 -1946 to provide an electronic archive of some 60,000 books and articles on Egypt and Egyptology. This is the main database for Egyptological studies. More up to date articles are available from the Annual Egyptological Bibliography website.
- Database of classical bibliography CD-ROM (available from the information desk in the Matheson Library). Contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. It comprises volumes 45-60 (1974-1989) of the print index L'Annee Philologique.
- Anthropology plus combines Anthropological literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Anthropology plus indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material cultures and interdisciplinary studies.
- Art full text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 285 journals published throughout the world. It includes articles from 1984 onwards.
- JSTOR is an electronic full text archive of over 600 journals in a wide range of disciplines (see JSTOR Journals Currently Available). Publication dates range from 1800's to 2002. Search or browse under the Archaeology, Anthropology, Art and Art History, Classical Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, History, Religion, and Asian Studies disciplines for relevant articles.
- PCI full text is an index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1770. Includes articles in English, German, Italian, French and Spanish languages. Provides links to scanned articles in PDF format.
- Current contents connect provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of over 7,500 journals and books in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences areas from 1993 onwards. Updated weekly.
- International bibliography of the social sciences covers the core social science disciplines of: economics, sociology, politics and anthropology. Coverage is from 1951 onwards. Current data is taken from over 2400 selected international social science journals and around 7000 books per annum. Updated weekly.
- Ingenta select provides links to full text journals and websites in a large range of subject areas crossing the three disciplines of arts and humanities, social sciences and science. Under Social Sciences Subject Area Resources there is a heading Anthropology and Archaeology which lists up to 70 journals.
- Academic research library is a general reference resource which indexes 2,300 journals and provides the full text for 1,500 of these journals. Subject areas include arts, humanities, social sciences, and international law.
- Expanded academic ASAP indexes 1,500 journals in all subject areas except the pure sciences and 520 of these journals are available in full text.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054
Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us
your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users
|