Skip to content | Change text size

Pharmacy & pharmacology

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health bibliography : ATSIhealth (connect | more information)

Bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian indigenous health. Source documents include journals, theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.

ACP journal club (connect | more information)

A journal that comprises structured abstracts of original research articles and systematic reviews from over 100 clinical journals. Content of articles selected is based on explicit criteria, followed by an assessment of its relevance to medical practice. Published by the American College of Physicians, articles reviewed focus on more common diseases and conditions. From 1995 to 2002, includes some content of the UK publication, Evidence Based Medicine. Also available as part of EBM Reviews. Full text links in the references allow you to explore the evidence in the primary source. Full text references link you to other full text documents within the database, as well as to bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE. Bi-directional linking allows you to link from MEDLINE to documents in the same collection or to journals available in Ovid Full Text.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Meditext

    APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    ATSDR's toxicological profiles (connect | more information)

    Constantly updated, ATSDR'S Toxicological Profiles (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry - U.S. Public Health Service) translates over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version into a comprehensive, current, easy-to-use format on the mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data. Rigorously peer-reviewed, this work covers the toxicological effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds. Each profile includes an examination, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological data evaluations on the hazardous substance. Offers 162 final toxicological profiles, with an extensive hyperlink system and advanced search capabilities.

  • Includes full text
  • AustLII (connect | more information)

    Provides full text searching of publicly available Australian primary legal materials such as Commonwealth and state consolidated acts and regulations, treaties and decisions of federal and state courts and tribunals. Extensive secondary legal materials such as law reform and royal commission reports, etc. are also included. Includes extensive links to other Australasian, Asian and international legal resources on the Internet.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Lawlex

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian medicines handbook (connect | more information)

    Australian Medicines Handbook's mission is to provide concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. The company is independent of both government and the pharmaceutical industry, and maintains its editorial independence through an editorial board, highly skilled editorial staff and an open peer review process.--About AMH website.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian public affairs information service : health (connect | more information)

    Australian bibliographic database tha indexes articles from published material. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Source documents include a wide range of journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.

    Biological abstracts (connect | more information)

    Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
    See also: Biological Abstracts 2002 - 2008
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    BioMed Central (connect | more information)

    BioMed Central Ltd. provides free access to original peer-reviewed biomedical research. Publications include journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in biology and medicine are also included. Research materials added by Monash authors are now also available at the site.

  • Includes full text
  • BIOSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Full-text handbooks and monographs covering topics including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • Books@Ovid (connect | more information)

    The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.

  • Includes full text

  • On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online (connect | more information)

    CHEMnetBASE provides access to the major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC. It includes several chemical dictionaries structured as searchable databases.

  • Includes full text
  • CINAHL plus (connect | more information)

    CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,802 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.

  • Includes full text
  • Cochrane central register of controlled trials (connect | more information)

    A bibliography of over 370,000 published and unpublished reports describing mostly randomised controlled trials and some observational studies in health care. Through extensive handsearching and searching of databases such as Medline and EMBASE, the Cochrane Collaboration creates CENTRAL, providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Cochrane database of systematic reviews (connect | more information)

    A good starting point for information on the effects of health care, particularly therapeutic interventions. Includes over 1,700 full text systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials (mostly) and protocols for systematic reviews in process that address a clearly formulated question. Studies are included on the basis of comprehensive and explicit criteria to minimise bias. Reviewers' conclusions give an overview of the most important findings, assisting practitioners to make informed decisions about health care. CochraneDSR is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Cochrane library (connect | more information)

    A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    ACP Journal Club
    CochraneDSR
    CENTRAL
    Cochrane Methodology Register
    DARE
    Health Technology Assessment
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database

    Cold Spring Harbor protocols (connect | more information)

    Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques. -- About CSH Protocols webpage.

  • Includes full text
  • combined chemical dictionary (connect | more information)

    The combined chemical dictionary is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The online version contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (240,000 records); Dictionary of natural Products (155,000 records); Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (100,000 records); Dictionary of pharmacological agents (38,000 records); and Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).

  • Includes full text
  • CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

    Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Current protocols in nucleic acid chemistry (connect | more information)

    "Published in association with International Society for Nucleosides, Nucleotides & Nucleic Acids (IS3NA) , Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is equally valuable for biotech, pharmaceutical, and academic labs. It is the resource for designing and running successful research projects in the rapidly growing and changing field of nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside research."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Current protocols in pharmacology (connect | more information)

    A "best-practices" collection of lab protocols. Covers the full range of molecular, cellular, physiological, and chemical techniques used for the discovery and development of novel therapeutics, presents state-of-the-art techniques for high-throughput screening methods, including FLIPR, receptor-binding assays, enzyme assays, and an array of preclinical models of disease and offers topical guideline overviews for assessment of drug efficacy and side effect liability, supported with appropriate protocols used by the industry.

  • Includes full text
  • Current protocols in toxicology (connect | more information)

    Current Protocols in Toxicology is a "best-practices" collection of lab protocols for accurate, efficient assessments of toxicity in whole organisms, organs and tissues, cells, and biochemical pathways.

  • Includes full text
  • Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE) (connect | more information)

    Over 4,000 structured abstracts, including commentary, of systematic reviews relating to the effects of healthcare interventions. Prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, UK, reviews of high methodological quality are identified by searching databases, handsearching major medical journals, selected websites and grey literature. DARE is also available as part of The Cochrane Library and EBM Reviews.

  • Includes full text
  • See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews


    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    dictionary of commonly cited compounds (connect | more information)

    A database contining concise chemical and bibliographic data of 25,000 compounds most commonly used by chemists. Covers organic compounds, inorganic compounds, drugs, natural products, materials, alloys, and the elements and their isotopes.

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of drugs (connect | more information)

    Contains over 40,000 drugs and pharmacological agents and represents a valuable resource for medicinal and pharmaceutical chemists. Coverage includes all currently marketed drugs, pharmacological tools, compounds in the later stages of clinical trials and pharmaceutical excipients. Its standard features include concise chemical data, accurately drawn structure diagrams and bibliographic information. All of this information is readily searchable.

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of natural products (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive database of 170,000 natural products which includes: names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, extensive source data, uses and applications, physical state, melting point, boiling point, pKa, and key literature citations, as well as a comprehensive type of compound classification scheme which brings together compounds that are biogenetically related. All information is searchable by text or by substructure.

  • Includes full text
  • Dictionary of organic compounds (connect | more information)

    Contains concise chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on over 255,000 of the most important organic compounds. These have been selected by an international team of experts in the field of modern organic chemistry and cover a wide range of commonly used chemicals, synthetic reagents, pesticides, starting materials, and simple fundamental compounds, plus a selection of natural products, pharmaceuticals, and analytical reagents. Data provided includes names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry numbers, physical properties, and key literature citations. All the information is readily searchable.

  • Includes full text
  • DRUG : drug database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on psychosocial aspects of substance abuse. Source documents include journals, bulletins, newsletters, newspapers, weeklies, monograph chapters, conference proceedings, research reports, discussion and position papers, theses, government documents and statistics. Both Australian and overseas journals are sourced. Subject coverage includes political, social, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse.

    EMBASE (connect | more information)

    EMBASE provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.

    eTG complete (connect | more information)

    Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include: 1. Therapeutic Guidelines -- Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Oral and Dental, Palliative Care, Psychotropic, Respiratory, and Rheumatology. 2. Management Guidelines -- Developmental Disability.

  • Includes full text

  • Restricted to 5 simultaneous users

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    H&S : health & society database (connect | more information)

    Covers health policy and administration, health services, economic issues, mental health and illness, pregnancy, birth, mortality, morbidity, health education and promotion and ethical aspects such as abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies as they relate to the health and well being of Australian families and individuals. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Health & Society is a subset of the Family database and indexes articles from published and unpublished materials, such as journals, conference papers, book chapters, government publications, statistical documents, annual reports and theses.

    Handbook of biosensors and biochips (connect | more information)

    "Biosensors and biochips are part of the huge and rapidly evolving areas of biomolecular and bioanalytical sciences. The market for biosensors and biochips is interdisciplinary and growing and has applications in a number of core research areas. With contributions from experts in the field, the Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips provides an essential reference, underpinning many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries."--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Harrison's online (connect | more information)

    Online version of the key textbook Harrison's principles of internal medicine. Search or browse the complete text, illustrations and expanded features or link to featured updates, related web sites, online pretests or the New England Journal of Medicine collections. Updated daily, AccessMedicine delivers the complete text, illustrations, and updates to the print version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17th Edition. The fully searchable database regularly presents new and revised content from the distinguished editors and contributors of Harrison's.

  • Includes full text
  • Health technology assessment (connect | more information)

    "The Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions)... Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations."--Database guide.
    See also:
    Cochrane Library
    EBM Reviews
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    HIVA : HIV/AIDS database (connect | more information)

    HIVA, Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection, is a bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. It is designed to provide invaluable information support for health care professionals, students, researchers, and people living with HIV/AIDS. It covers the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS, as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS.

    Informa healthcare (connect | more information)

    InformaHealthcare.com combines the pharmaceutical, life science and medical journal titles published by Informa Healthcare onto one platform to simplify your experience, and deliver online content from more than 170 journals.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • International pharmaceutical abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides periodical article citations and abstracts from over 800 pharmaceutical and health related journals worldwide. Major areas of coverage include: drug reactions, toxicity, investigational drugs, drug evaluations, drug interactions, biopharmaceuticals, pharmaceuticals, drug stability, pharmacology, preliminary drug testing, pharmaceutical chemistry, drug analysis, drug metabolism, pharmacognosy, and methodology.

    Intute. Health & life sciences (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work on chemical technology. Subject areas include chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and much more. Users can search by key words, author, Chemical Abstract Registry Numbers, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Management guidelines : developmental disability (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • MD Consult (connect | more information)

    The CD Consult Core Collection helps physicians answer clinical questions and stay abreast of recent developments by integrating: 49 respected medical reference books; over 71 medical journals and clinics; PDFs available for many Elsevier journals and clinics (dating back to 2002); comprehensive drug information; more than 1,000 clinical practice guidelines; over 5,000 customizable patient education handouts; and more.

  • Includes full text
  • MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • MedlinePlus (connect | more information)

    MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • Mental measurements yearbook (connect | more information)

    Search Mental Measurements Yearbook to retrieve information and full text reviews of all published English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Produced by the Buros Institute, it includes information published from the 9th print edition onwards.

  • Includes full text

  • On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Merck index (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Micromedex health care series (connect | more information)

    The Micromedex Healthcare Series provides information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education. Monash University library has access to selected Micromedex databases: DRUGDEX System, Martindale, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, Alternative Medicine, Interaction Checking and Imprint Codes in Indentex.

  • Includes full text
  • MIMS online (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the full MIMS database of abbreviated and full information (including OTC) on prescription and non-prescription drugs available in Australia. Alerts are provided for interactions between medicines, food, health conditions and patient allergies, and full colour product identification pictures are available.

  • Includes full text
  • NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Groundbreaking studies, classic texts, and illustrative atlases make this site a premier neuroscience reference. It offers the latest on Parkinson's and Alzheimer's as well as circadian studies, cytokines research, and computational neuroscience.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

    Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
    See also:
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    OldMedline 1950-1965
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Ovid MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations (connect | more information)

    Search Ovid MEDLINE in-process to locate very recently published material. This database consists of records waiting for full processing, such as addition of MeSH terms and other fields, prior to transfer to Ovid MEDLINE. Also includes citations from selectively indexed Medline journals not included in Medline. These are permanently retained in this database.
    See also:
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Ovid OLDMEDLINE (connect | more information)

    OLDMEDLINE contains citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences. Subject searching of this file is available through key words (the original Medical Subject Headings, assigned prior to 1965) and text phrases. Unlike MEDLINE, this file contains no abstracts nor MeSH heading field data from NLM's current controlled vocabulary.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Patty's toxicology (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Pharmaceutical news index (connect | more information)

    As public scrutiny of the healthcare industry intensifies, Pharmaceutical News Index¿¿ gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 21 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters. Some articles are full text.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PHARMACEUTICALnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive resource for both industrial and academic researchers, this site explores drug discovery, development, and delivery systems. It covers quality and manufacturing and includes ADME - Toxicology information and dosage forms.

  • Includes full text
  • Properties of organic compounds (connect | more information)

    A database containing over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest health & medical complete (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,200 publications with more than 965 available in full text and of these, over 770 include MEDLINE¿¿ indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    RURAL : rural and remote health database (connect | more information)

    RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covers a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, some conference and discussion papers.

    SciFinder scholar. Client version (connect | more information)

    SciFinder Scholar is a bibliographic database for chemistry, chemical engineering, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and chemical substance or reaction and by chemical structure. It provides access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports. The information is retrieved from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including CAPLUS (1907 to present), CASREACT (1974 to present), and CAS Registry (1957 to present), and also from MEDLINE (1958 to present).
    Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users: Monash staff and students only.

    SciFinder Scholar Support Information

    SciFinder. Web version (connect | more information)

    SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, etc. You can explore one single source for scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world. Search by chemical structure, research topic, author, company, substance name, or reaction.--American Chemical Society product information page.
    Note: - Restricted to 4 simultaneous users: Monash staff and students only.

    Serials in Australian libraries : SIAL (connect | more information)

    Provides location details of serials in Australian libraries. Also available is a companion database - Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). The main sequence of the ILRS directory is arranged by NUC symbol, as displayed in the holdings statement of records in SIAL.

    Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • STAT!Ref (connect | more information)

    StatREF includes general clinical medicine, pharmacology, physiology, surgery or psychiatry electronic books that can be searched individually or simultaneously. Alternatively, browse the table of contents for an individual book title. Link to Stedmans medical dictionary. Five concurrent users.

  • Includes full text
  • Therapeutic guidelines. See: eTG complete (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • TOXICOLOGYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    From environmental investigations to laboratory testing, from pathological studies to target-organ toxicology, this online tool offers the latest methods and data for any type of toxicological investigation. Also including the ATSDR database, it surveys issues related to food, nutrition, drug abuse, pharmaceuticals, and developmental toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • TOXLINE (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Major areas of subject coverage include: air pollution; antidotes; biological and adverse effects of drugs; carcinogenesis via chemicals; chemically induced diseases; environmental chemicals and pollutants; food additives; genotoxicity; hazardous materials; health and safety human and animal toxicity; industrial and household chemicals; mutagenicity pesticides and herbicides; radioactive materials; and, risk. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.

    TOXNET : (Toxicology Data Network) (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI (Toxics Release Inventory). It also provides links to related web resources.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    WHO international biological reference preparations (connect | more information)

    WHO defines more than 300 International Biological Reference Preparations which are listed in a database and updated following the decisions of the Expert Committee on Biological Standardization. It provides a means of ensuring uniformity throughout the world in the designation of the potency, activity or specificity of preparations that are used in the prophylaxis, therapy or diagnosis of human and some animal diseases, and that cannot be expressed directly in terms of chemical and physical quantities.

  • Includes full text
  • Wiley handbook of current and emerging drug therapies (connect | more information)

    The Wiley Handbook of Current and Emerging Drug Therapies is an authoritative, primary reference tailored to meet the needs of researchers, graduate students and practitioners dealing with numerous biomedical applications, especially in the fields of therapeutics, pharmacology, and drug discovery and delivery. No other resource focuses on drug discovery and pharmaceutical research from this unique perspective, combining scientific and business aspects of today's biotechnology.--Reference work home.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases