Skip to content | Change text size

Media studies

AltPressIndex (connect | more information)

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

AltPressIndexArchive (connect | more information)

"Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page.

APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Australian newspapers : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954 (connect | more information)

    The Australian Newspapers Beta service allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains 70,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1954 and coverage is expanding weekly. The titles in the ANDP (as at July 31, 2008) include: Argus (Melbourne), Brisbane courier, Canberra times, Courier-mail (Brisbane), Hobart town gazette and southern reporter, Hobart town gazette and Van Diemen's land advertiser, Maitland mercury & Hunter River general advertiser, Mercury (Hobart), Perth gazette and Western Australian journal, South Australian advertiser and Sydney gazette and New South Wales advertiser.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian screen : Australia's audiovisual heritage online (connect | more information)

    "australianscreen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to ...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page.

    Communication & mass media complete (connect | more information)

    Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Crikey : [website] (connect | more information)

    The Crikey website presents a selection of Crikey's original content along with links to stories from all corners of the web, and includes "independent news, blogs and commentary on politics, media, business, the environment and life." The website also has Crikey Daily Mail, which is sent out daily to subscribers. This email edition of 25 or more original stories is crammed with news, analysis, insider gossip, reviews and prescient tips about politics, media, business, the law, culture and national and international affairs. The Monash access does not include Daily Mail, but all Crikey Daily Mail articles are also posted on the website, which is accessible by password to Monash library users. (Once in the site, click on the Login link at the top of the home page to access Daily Mail, and enter the password and email address from the Monash login page)

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Film & television literature index with full text (connect | more information)

    "Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text ... is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books."--database description (viewed July 9, 2009)

  • Includes full text
  • Film index international (connect | more information)

    Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

    Film literature index (connect | more information)

    The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.

    Gale virtual reference library (connect | more information)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Access is provided to titles which the library has purchased. All books can be searched simultaneously or individually. Searches can also be limited to specific subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit indexes (connect | more information)

    "Indexes provide instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions. Informit Indexes make it easy to locate archived content, ensuring users don't overlook the important information only available in print and ... excluded from full text databases."--Informit Products page.

    International encyclopedia of communication online (connect | more information)

    The online version of a 12-volume reference spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Arrangement of 1,400 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas. Updated several times per year.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Arts & humanities (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Media and Internet law and practice (connect | more information)

    "Media and Internet Law and Practice is the only service of its kind in Australia. It brings together the diverse sources of law for all forms of media, including the internet and on-line services .... the service covers emerging forms of media, including internet, datacasting and Pay TV, narrowcasting, as well as "traditional" media such as print, radio and television. Media, in all its forms, is rapidly changing, especially as we enter the "Information Age". The service is updated regularly, to keep abreast of current developments and to provide a focus on the legal and other challenges, presented by this rapid change."--Preface to revised ed.

  • Includes full text
  • Media guide live! (connect | more information)

    Provides access to more than 25,000 entries of Australia's leading media outlets, encompassing television and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and press agencies. News features for up-to-date information on the latest media changes and statistics are also included. Directory entries include: interactive internet and e-mail links, telephone and fax numbers, executive staff, advertising rates, etc. Hundreds of downloadable ready-made lists in MS Excel format are available with entries including fax numbers, e-mail addresses and circulation figures.

    ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Sixties (connect | more information)

    "The Sixties ... brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary ... Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • TVNews (connect | more information)

    TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.

    World press encyclopedia : a survey of press systems worldwide (connect | more information)

    This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include overview and background, economic framework, general characteristics, number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, education and training in journalism, and more.

  • Includes full text
  • YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases