| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Jewish studiesKey resourcesCSA Illumina (connect | more information)This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology. If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Historical abstracts (connect | more information)Citation database of English language and foreign language journal articles, articles in collected works, dissertations and books about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Abstracts, in English, are provided for articles only. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering all aspects of the study of language. Major areas of subject coverage include: anthropological linguistics; applied linguistics; descriptive linguistics; discourse analysis/text linguistics; hearing and speech physiology; pathological and normal hearing; history of linguistics; interpersonal behaviour and communication; language classification; pathological and normal language; learning disabilities; lexicography/lexicology; mental retardation; morphology; nonverbal communication; orthography, writing systems; philosophy of language; phonetics; phonology; poetics/literary theory; psycholinguistics; psychometrics; semantics; semiotics; sociolinguistics; special education; syntax; theory of linguistics; and, typology.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Project Muse (connect | more information)Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences. Proquest religion (connect | more information)The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections, the database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link
Other resourcesArab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 (connect | more information)Series One - Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 - offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948. Australia's religious communities : a multimedia exploration (connect | more information)Explores the changing nature of religion in Australia. Looks at the various religions in the world and their traditions and background. BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)
This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.
Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present. New York times : archive (connect | more information)Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2002. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.The database covers a span of issues currently not covered by any other electronic resource. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link PAIS archive (connect | more information)
PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).
PAIS international (connect | more information)
This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number. Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950 (connect | more information)Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents. RAMBI : the index of articles on Jewish Studies (connect | more information)RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.
Testaments to the Holocaust (connect | more information)This digital resource offers the unique resources of the World's oldest Holocaust museum, including documents and rare printed materials from the Wiener Library, London. Alfred Wiener fled Germany in 1933 and established his collection in London. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (connect | more information)Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to the end of December 1985. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. TLS, the Times literary supplement centenary archive (connect | more information)More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement, a leading journal of the world's literary and cultural activity. Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive covers October 1994 onwards in full text. Visual history archive (connect | more information)The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive provides access to over 50,600 video interviews conducted with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. These testimonies were collected in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The majority of the interviews are with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. Political prisoners, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, and liberators, witnesses, rescuers, and aid providers also provided testimony. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|