Skip to content | Change text size

International relations

Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 (connect | more information)

Series One - Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 - offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948.

  • Includes full text
  • Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)

    Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services.

  • Includes full text
  • Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (connect | more information)

    Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers. In addition to document files from The National Archives this digital edition includes a picture gallery illustrating key British operations, SOE equipment and individuals, clips from Now it Can Be Told from the Imperial War Museum, London, showing actual SOE agents reconstructing sabotage and intelligence operations in occupied France, a film begun in complete secrecy in 1944 and released in 1946, and The Chronology and Index of the Second World War, 1938-1945, compiled by The Royal Institute of International Affairs.

  • Includes full text
  • CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

    This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Documents online [WTO] (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), including the legal texts of the WTO agreements, from 1995 onwards, with daily updates. Also contains selected material for the period 1986-1994, principally Uruguay Round documents and a small number of GATT documents.Note: this database does not contain WTO publications.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of modern Asia : (connect | more information)

    Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally.

  • Includes full text
  • Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)

    EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty.

  • Includes full text
  • FIRST (connect | more information)

    This is an integrated database system which contains clearly documented information from research institutes around the world. It covers areas in the field of international relations and security, including facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data. A country profile approach for data retrieval is used. The system allows the user to search through more than 40 databases from different institutes around the world through a single user-friendly interface.

  • Includes full text
  • INTAN MAS (connect | more information)

    This is a bibliographic database that contains references to the literature on East Timor and Eastern Indonesia, on Australia's relations with Southeast Asia and with ASEAN and its member nations. Source documents include books, periodical articles and dissertations. The database is limited to the languages of Western Europe and Bahasa Indonesia and has selective coverage of colonial and present day government reports. Coverage: 1989 to 2002.

    Iraq, 1914-1974 (connect | more information)

    Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.

  • Includes full text
  • MIPT terrorism knowledge base (connect | more information)

    The MIPT Terrorism Knowledge Base is a comprehensive resource for research and analysis on global terrorist incidents, terrorism-related court cases, and terrorist groups and leaders. It takes users through the history, affiliations, locations, and tactics of the terrorism entities operating across the world at this moment. The database features interactive maps, biographies on key terrorist personalities, dynamic graphs, and summaries on who is who and what is what inside the world of terrorism today. The Terrorism Knowledge Base integrates data from the RAND Terrorism Chronology 1968-1997; RAND-MIPT Terrorism Incident database (1998-Present); Terrorism Indictment database (University of Arkansas); and DFI International's research on terrorist organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • PAIS archive (connect | more information)

    PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    PAIS international (connect | more information)

    This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Political science : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 25 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system (connect | more information)

    Catalogue of United Nations documentation and publications indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-United Nations sources held in New York and Geneva's collections. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 onward, however, more and more older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet provides access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Links to full text of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council, going back to 1946, are included.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations official documents : ODS (connect | more information)

    ODS Online is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations available in the official languages of the UN (English, Spanish and French). Includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992 and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.

  • Includes full text
  • United Nations treaty collection= Collection des traite¿¿s des Nations unies (connect | more information)

    Includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts. Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat, detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s); and recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases