| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
International lawKey resourcesLegalTrac (connect | more information)A major bibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers on cases studies, government regulations, practice of law, statutes, and legal subjects such as taxation and international law. It also covers law related articles for approximately 1000 additional business and general interest titles. Some full text articles are included. Geographical coverage includes the U.S. Canada, U.K. and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. See also: Legal Resource Index on Lexis.com LexisNexis : total research system (connect | more information)LexisNexis is an international online legal research tool providing full-text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc. from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Australia, and many other jurisdictions around the world. (Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law.) Online help: Internet Explorer 6 users: Change your Cookie settings if you are having problems using LexisNexis with IE6. Alternative access: to lexis.com requires AuthCate password. Note: Individual passwords to customise the lexis.com interface are still available for Law Faculty and Business Law & Tax staff if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help. Westlaw.Australia (connect | more information)Provides access to Australian and international sources of legal information. Australian information includes: Cases, Law Reports, Unreported Judgments, Commonwealth Legislation, Commonwealth Regulations, Corporations Law, Financial Services Law, Regulation and Compliance (APRA, ASIC, ASX, SFE, AUSTRAC, FICS, Treasury), News Sources (AFR, BRW, SMH, Dow Jones, APP News, Reuters etc) and Codes of Practice and Standards. Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law. Online help: Alternative access to Westlaw is available if the link above does not work. Note: Individual passwords to customise the Westlaw interface are available for Law Faculty staff and Law HDR students if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help.
Other resourcesAmerican maritime cases (connect | more information)"Contains the complete set of the American Maritime Cases publication, from 1923 to [the present]. American Maritime Cases contains significant maritime decisions rendered by United States (Federal and State) courts. It also reports legislative action, administrative law decisions, arbitration decisions, Maritime Law Association of the U.S. source material and other items which are deemed significant to researching U.S. and Canadian law. Cases contain AMC's key indexing system and headnotes." -- Information page. Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services. Collection of laws for electronic access : CLEA (connect | more information)CLEA consists of a bibliographic database in English linked to a full text database in English, French, and Spanish. CLEA contains national legislative texts in the field of intellectual property, texts of treaties administered by World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), texts of treaties not administered by WIPO and bibliographic data entries concerning each legislative text and treaty. EISIL (connect | more information)EISIL provides access to the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet. Foreign & international law resources database (connect | more information)FLIRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice. Globalization and labor standards : GALS bibliographic library (connect | more information)This bibliographic database contains abstracts of recent law journal articles exploring international labour standards in the global economy. Taken from English language law journals from around the world, GALS provides an alphabetical list of summarised articles, followed by citations categorised by subject heading. Current subject headings include: codes of conduct, child labor, NAFTA, WTO, ILO, women's rights, etc. The database can be browsed by subject, author, journal, or searched by keyword. ICL database & commentary (connect | more information)The ICL Database & Commentary aims to provide scholars, as well as practitioners, a starting point for legal research in the field of international criminal law. It is developed by the editor Mark Klamberg. Includes case law from the International Criminal Court and a commentary to the Rome Statute. ILOLEX : database of international labour standards (connect | more information)Trilingual database (English/French/Spanish) on international labour standards containing more than 75,000 full-text documents. It includes the ILO Constitution, ILO Conventions, international labor standards, human rights, employment policy, working conditions, industrial relations, occupational safety and health, and social security. Index to Common Law Festschriften (connect | more information)The Index to Common Law Festschriften is the culmination of a three-year project funded by the New Zealand Law Foundation and undertaken by University of Auckland Law School. There are over 270 common law Festschriften indexed on this database, amounting to over 4,500 chapter entries. In addition, there are more than a thousand entries of English language contributions to predominantly foreign language, non-common law Festschriften from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. Index to foreign legal periodicals (connect | more information)
Indexes articles as well as book reviews from more than 540 legal periodicals worldwide. It covers international law (public and private), comparative and foreign law, and municipal law, and includes materials in all languages. It does not cover articles about the legal systems of the United States, Great Britain, Canada and Australia. IFLP also analyses the contents of appoximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Melanges and congress reports each year.
Index to legal periodicals (connect | more information)Indexes legal journals, books, book reviews, yearbooks, institute and bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. It includes thorough coverage of American law journals and selective coverage of law journals from the other jurisdictions. International encyclopaedia for labour law and industrial relations (connect | more information)This is the online version of the 36 -volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. It features: Country overviews of over 60 countries, English translations of the important labour and industrial relations laws of over 20 nations, and covers individual as well as collective labour relations. International law in domestic courts (connect | more information)Contains domestic cases in international law from over 65 jurisdictions. Features expert commentary, full texts of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English. Includes an archive of cases dating back to 2000, with over 150 new cases added each year. International trade and U.S. antitrust law (connect | more information)Contains: 1. Analysis of when U.S. law applies to foreign firms doing business in the U.S. and to U.S. firms abroad. 2. Exploration of the effect of globalization on competition between domestic and foreign markets and discusses current U.S. statutes, regulations, and case laws. 3. Discussion of the regulation of dominant firms, extraterritoriality, antitrust problems in export transactions, transnational litigation issues, international transfer of technology and intellectual property issues, competition and fairly traded imports, and "unfair" international trade practices. -- Information page. Kluwer law online (connect | more information)Kluwer Law Online provides access to over 20 online journals in a variety of areas of law including: air and space law, arbitration, business/commercial law, company/corporate law, competition law, environmental law, European community law, intellectual property, international trade law, labour law and taxation. New improvements to the site have seen each journal being allocated its own home page and the browsing facility has been much enhanced. Access to some looseleaf publications is also available. KluwerArbitration (connect | more information)An international commercial arbitration database of primary and secondary materials, with full text access. Includes conventions, legislation, institutional rules, model clauses, case law and commentary from leading publications. Legislationline (connect | more information)This legislative web site is a tool for finding specific national and international legislation, standards and related documents dealing with the rule of law and the protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms. The database of documents can be searched by country, topic, international organisation or keyword. Countries covered are located in the Caucasus, Central Asia, Europe and North America. Other useful links to relevant external web sites are also listed. LexisNexis (connect | more information)The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly. Alternative access LexUM (connect | more information)LexUM is the University of Montreal's legal information technologies laboratory. LexUM's strategy is based on the advanced use of technology to improve access to law and justice. LeXUM provides free access to law resources including; Canadian law resources and Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII); Decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada and Statutes of Canada; International Law Resources including Juris International, Droit francophone, JuriBurkina; Conferences Proceedings; Canadian Citation Committee. LII : Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)Produced by the Cornell Law School, this comprehensive site provides free and easy access to a vast selection of legal information. Resources include recent and historic U.S. Supreme Court decisions, full-text access to every U.S. state statute and constitution, complete full-text of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and the U.S. Code, as well as bills pending in state legislatures. LII also offers a "spotlight section" which highlights specific Supreme Court decisions during the current term and also includes links to law cases recently in the news. NATLEX (connect | more information)Trilingual bibliographic database containing information on national laws on labour, social security and related human rights. Includes references to legal texts from about 180 countries and in more than forty languages. Each NATLEX record contains a detailed bibliographic description, an abstract, ILO Thesaurus descriptors and LABORLEX classification headings, and, when appropriate, links to other related records. Pacific Islands Treaty Series (connect | more information)The Pacific Islands Treaty Series (PITS) focuses on pacific regional and international treaties that affect pacific island countries. PITS aims to be a comprehensive treaty database for the Pacific Islands region (21 Pacific countries and territories) publishing bilateral and multilateral treaties which Pacific Island states have entered into amongst themselves, as well as with nations and organisations external to the region. Refworld : the leader in refugee decision support (connect | more information)RefWorld is a full-text database of refugee information comprising Country of Origin Information (COI) and Legal Information, including international instruments, national legislation, and national and international case law. Other areas of UNHCR Online provide access to statements of the United Nations High Commissioners for Refugees from 1951; UNHCR information and executive committee documents; UNHCR policy documents and guidelines; and, new stories and briefing notes. Transnational law digest & bibliography (connect | more information)This database, which is an online version of the new Lex mercatoria, provides access to almost 80 principles and rules which form part of transnational commercial law. For each principle and rule, the TLDB provides the user with the black letter text and comprehensive references taken from international arbitral awards, domestic statutes, international conventions, standard contract forms, trade practices and usages, other sample clauses and academic sources. All of these sources are, as far as possible, presented in full text versions. Access is available through a hierarchically structured table of contents or keyword searching. UNBISnet : UN bibliographic information system (connect | more information)Catalogue of United Nations documentation and publications indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-United Nations sources held in New York and Geneva's collections. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 onward, however, more and more older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet provides access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Links to full text of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council, going back to 1946, are included. UNILEX on CISG & UNIDROIT principles : international case law & bibliography (connect | more information)UNILEX is an ¿¿¿intelligent¿¿¿ database of international case law and bibliography on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) and on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts - two of the most important international instruments for the regulation of international commercial transactions. UNILEX contains: detailed abstracts of the most important cases decided under both instruments by courts and arbitral tribunals worldwide; the full text of each decision in its original language (when available); the complete texts of the CISG and the UNIDROIT Principles; a status report on the state of ratifications of the CISG, including reservations and declarations by States parties to the Convention; a comprehensive bibliography for each instrument. United Nations official documents : ODS (connect | more information)ODS Online is a full-text database of parliamentary documents and official records of the United Nations available in the official languages of the UN (English, Spanish and French). Includes General Assembly, Security Council, and other Council resolutions from 1946, all UN parliamentary documents from 1992 and various UN daily journals and lists of documents. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information. United Nations treaty collection= Collection des traite¿¿s des Nations unies (connect | more information)Includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts. Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat, detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s); and recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published. WorldLII : World Legal Information Institute (connect | more information)The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility. It provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: AustLII; BAILII; CanLII; HKLII; LII (Cornell); and PacLII. WorldLII also includes as part of this searchable collection its own databases not found on other LIIs. These include databases of decisions of international Courts and Tribunals, databases from a number of Asian countries, and databases from South Africa (provided by Wits Law School). Over 270 databases from 48 jurisdictions in 20 countries are included in the initial release of WorldLII. Databases of case-law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials are included. WorldTradeLaw.net : the online source for world trade law. (connect | more information)Searchable full text of GATT/WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports; WTO arbitration awards and decisions; Uruguay Round agreements; Tokyo Round agreements; Doha decisions/declarations; NAFTA Chapter 20 Panel reports; NAFTA and related legal instruments; Dispute settlement commentaries (DSCs) for awards and decision, and primary source documents related to international trade law.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|