Skip to content | Change text size

International development

Key resources

GEOBASE (connect | more information)

GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database that deeply indexes research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. The database contains over 1.8 million bibliographic records taken from 2,000 scientific and technical journals. Online coverage is from 1980 to the present, and files are updated weekly.

IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)

The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    PAIS archive (connect | more information)

    PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    PAIS international (connect | more information)

    This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

     


    Other resources

    AGRICOLA (connect | more information)

    Provides access to two separate bibliographic databases of the United States National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators: online public access catalogue (books, reports, conference proceedings, FAO and USDA publications, serials, patents and audiovisual material); and, journal article citation index (journal articles, book chapters, short reports and reprints). The databases encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

    Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)

    This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Bibliography of Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Citation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database.

    EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • Econlit (connect | more information)

    Leading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles. Also indexes essays, research and working papers, books, dissertations and book reviews.

    Electronic journals and newspapers on Africa (connect | more information)

    An annotated archive of links to African Studies Electronic Journals and Newspapers. Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.

  • Includes full text
  • MEDGE : management and environment information (connect | more information)

    Australian index to journal articles on a wide range of management-related topics, including environmental management (e.g. recycling and litter control), the Australian economy and government policy. Coverage: 1985 to Jul. 2006.

    SourceOECD (connect | more information)

    SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres. Subjects covered include: economics, business, social sciences, development, statistics, environment, education, agriculture, investment, finance and governance.

  • Includes full text
  • World Bank e-Library (connect | more information)

    The World Bank e-Library is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development, an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,500 World Bank documents. Includes all current and recent World Bank titles, documents and papers. Titles are available on or about publication date of the print edition.

  • Includes full text
  • World development indicators (connect | more information)

    WDI Online provides access to statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for 228 countries, as well as data for regions and income groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    Accessing databases