Skip to content | Change text size

Information technology

Key resources

ACM digital library (connect | more information)

Covers full text journals and proceedings from the Association since the 1950's. It also includes works published by affiliated organisations

  • Includes full text
  • Computer database (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that provides citations and abstracts to 150 periodicals covering the computer, telecommunications and electronics industry. Full text of articles from 1983 is also provided. It is mainly useful for articles covering product introductions, news and reviews in areas related to software, hardware, electronics, communications and the application of technology.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    IEEE Xplore (connect | more information)

    IEEE Xplore is a full text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, more than 120 journal titles, 600 conference proceedings of IEEE and IEE published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Updated weekly, it also provides an email table of contents alerting service. IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and IEE (The Institution of Electrical Engineers) are the world's major electrical and electronic engineering authorities.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest computing (connect | more information)

    Search top computing journals (nearly 300 in full text) for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet. The database includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

     


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Archives and records management literature in Australia and New Zealand : ARLIT (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexed articles from published material on archives administration and records management in Australia and New Zealand. Coverage: 1940-2000.

    Australian library & information science abstracts : ALISA (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from Australian published and unpublished material on library and information science, children's literature and archives. Completed publication in 2005.

    Business source premier (connect | more information)

    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: ABI/INFORM global

    CiteSeer.IST : scientific literature digital library. (connect | more information)

    CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library that provides autonomous citation indexing, citation linking and full text of Postscript and PDF research articles on the Web. Algorithms, techniques, and software are also provided and can be used in other digital libraries.

  • Includes full text
  • Compendex (connect | more information)

    Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

    Computer index Australasia (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes articles from a range of journals such as Australian & New Zealand LAN Magazine, Australia PC User, PC Week, Australian Macworld and other general interest computing journals. Subject coverage includes articles on popular computing, software, hardware, communications and computer applications. Coverage: 1994 to 2001.

    CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • ECO, Electronic collections online (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of a collection of journals covering all subject disciplines. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full text articles, including original text and image content, are available for journal titles included in the institution subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Up to 226 handbooks and reference titles are available for searching or browsing in the area of electrical engineering and related disciplines.

  • Includes full text
  • eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • Emerald (connect | more information)

    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Some journal articles are not available with the current Monash subscription.

    Encyclopedia of communities of practice in information and knowledge management (connect | more information)

    "This encyclopedia will give readers insight on how other organizations have tackled the necessary means of sharing knowledge across communities and functions"--Provided by publisher.

  • Includes full text
  • Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • Essential science indicators (connect | more information)

    Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is a resource that enables researchers to conduct ongoing, quantitative analyses of research performance and track trends in science. Covering a multidisciplinary selection of 11,000+ journals from around the world, this in-depth analytical tool offers data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. Available as a ten-year rolling file, ESI covers 10 million articles in 22 specific fields of research, and is updated every two months. There are also links to Web of Science¿¿ where more detailed information on papers can be found. -- Thomson products information page.

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    FirstSearch (connect | more information)

    A suite of electronic reference databases (indexes and abstracts), including CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues - health and human rights), and WorldCat (OCLC - catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide).

  • Includes full text
  • Imagining the Internet : a history and forecast (connect | more information)

    A multi-section resource containing thousands of pages. It exposes future possibilities while simultaneously providing a look back at the past. This resource includes special explanatory sections on the future and past development of communications networks. It includes videos and audio recordings that reveal the ideas of cutting-edge thinkers such as Douglas Engelbart and Vernor Vinge as they discuss the future. It has informative areas targeted to benefit children under 12 (KidZone), and to help teachers of elementary, middle school, high school and college students use the site to educate .The site shares a look back at what people were saying in the 1990s during the "awe" stage of the development of the internet, and it records a legacy of predictive statements as they are made.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • InfoSci-Books (connect | more information)

    Database consists of multi-volume book collections covering 12 key areas of information science and technology. Users may access every book chapter published by IGI Global from 2000 onwards.

    InfoSci-Cases (connect | more information)

    "InfoSci-Cases (formerly IGI Teaching Case Collection) offers electronic access to all information technology teaching cases published by IGI Global in one easy-to-use online format. InfoSci-Cases is an extensive, academic, online full-text database which provides ... access to hundreds of teaching cases from IGI Global books and journals...Currently there are over 400 teaching cases available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present time and new cases are consistently added each quarter."--Overview page.

    InfoSci-Journals (connect | more information)

    Provides access to hundreds of journal articles from IGI Global's collection of over 20 journals. Currently there are over 1,000 research articles available, each focusing on the latest research in IT, and are represented from 2000 until the present.

  • Includes full text
  • InfoSECURITYnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Established experts meet the increasing challenges of information security, with a wealth of material exploring system analysis and server set-up, as well as cryptography, cyber-crime, and other modern risks.

  • Includes full text
  • IngentaConnect (connect | more information)

    Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • INSPEC (connect | more information)

    Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.

    Internet encyclopedia (connect | more information)

    This comprehensive compendium offers a broad perspective on the Internet as a business tool, an IT platform, and a medium for communications and commerce. It presents internet theory and developments as described by global experts from such prestigious institutions as Stanford University, Harvard University, and MIT and such leading corporations as Microsoft, IBM, Hewlett-Packard, and Sun Microsystems.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • ITKnowledgeBASE (connect | more information)

    ITKnowledgeBASE is a searchable database of information on all aspects of information technology management, strategies, systems and technologies, containing the complete Auerbach Information Management Service.

  • Includes full text
  • Library, information science & technology abstracts (connect | more information)

    Database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.

    LISA : library and information science abstracts (connect | more information)

    This indexing and abstracting database provides access to over 440 library and information science periodicals from more than 68 countries. Major areas of coverage include: artificial intelligence, computer science applications, data warehousing, knowledge management, archives, management, technology, library use and users, medical information, online information retrieval, publishing and booksellers, records management, telecommunications, technical services, and the internet. Also includes book reviews.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    MathSciNet (connect | more information)

    MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.

    Media and Internet law and practice (connect | more information)

    "Media and Internet Law and Practice is the only service of its kind in Australia. It brings together the diverse sources of law for all forms of media, including the internet and on-line services .... the service covers emerging forms of media, including internet, datacasting and Pay TV, narrowcasting, as well as "traditional" media such as print, radio and television. Media, in all its forms, is rapidly changing, especially as we enter the "Information Age". The service is updated regularly, to keep abreast of current developments and to provide a focus on the legal and other challenges, presented by this rapid change."--Preface to revised ed.

  • Includes full text
  • MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • Nanotechnologies for the life sciences (connect | more information)

    Nanotechnologies for the Life Sciences is the first comprehensive source on the interface where materials science and life sciences meet on the nanoscale. Offers an in-depth overview of all nanoscale technologies and fabrication methods in materials engineering towards life sciences. Covers the complete range of synthetic methods, tools and techniques being developed towards medical, biological, and cybernetic applications, [and] describes all the important facets of nanofabrication. -- Home page.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • ProjectManagementnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Searchable database providing the tools needed to guarantee projects delivered on time with a strong return on investment. This library contains the work of experts who discuss preferred software packages and models, as well as give succinct step-by-step advice on how to maximize talent, processes, and resources to produce a positive bottom line.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest telecommunications (connect | more information)

    The database includes 130 titles, with more than 105 available in full text. Topics covered include computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and radio and television.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Rhizome.org (connect | more information)

    Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files.

    Safari tech books online (connect | more information)

    Safari is a database of online books in the area of information technology. Not all titles are available for viewing, selected titles only.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text
  • Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    SpringerLink (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to Springer journals and book series. Subject coverage includes: chemical sciences, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science (for science, social science and humanities), Current Contents Connect and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    Wiley encyclopedia of computer science and engineering (connect | more information)

    Includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education.-- Home page.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    World Scientific eBooks (connect | more information)

    World Scientific eBooks are electronic versions of World Scientific print titles. All subject areas that World Scientific actively publishes in are available in eBook format. Covers 16 different subject areas, concentrating on STM titles - Asian Studies, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Environmental Science, General Interest, Healthcare, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Healthcare, Nanotechnology and Nanoscience, Nonlinear Science, Physics and Social Sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: The Library has not bought access to all of the electronic books listed here. If you are denied access to the full text of any book here and want the Library to subscribe, please complete a Purchase suggestion form and we will consider your request.

     

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases