| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
HistoryKey resourcesAcademic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Bibliography of Asian studies (connect | more information)Citation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Historical abstracts (connect | more information)Citation database of English language and foreign language journal articles, articles in collected works, dissertations and books about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Abstracts, in English, are provided for articles only. History compass (connect | more information)History Compass spans prehistory-300 BCE to the present with all content organised into nine sections: Africa, Asia, Australasia & Pacific, Britain & Ireland, Caribbean & Latin America, Europe, Middle & Near East, North America, and World. The database can be searched by keyword, author, title, theme, geographical region and period via a timeline, etc. Marked content can be organised into a personal workspace called 'My bibliography' which can then be printed out, exported in EndNote or reference Manager format, or emailed. Content includes original articles or expert opinions: editorials; viewpoints (important topical subjects ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words); and, recommended reading. Also included are reference resources: the full text of selected authoritative reference books from Blackwell Publishing's companions series (updated each year); key journals and their tables of contents; bibliographic citations for 1000s of academic, English language, history books published since 2001 from all major publishers (updated quarterly); and, a digital map library from selected Blackwell books. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.
Other resources17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers (connect | more information)This database features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). It represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Access to archival databases (AAD) (connect | more information)"The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats ... AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet." Includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC. AEB : Annual Egyptological bibliography (connect | more information)The online version of the Annual Egyptological bibliography includes volumes from 1947 to 2001 for a total of 46,000 titles. AHB : Australian heritage bibliography (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures. AHRR : Australian historic records register (connect | more information)Database of paper-based records held in private hands in Australia. Source documents include letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers and other material. It provides insight into life in Australia from settlement to 1988. Completed publication in 1988. American Civil War : letters and diaries (connect | more information)The American Civil War : Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles. American national biography (connect | more information)Fully searchable resource offering "portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation" with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select Web sites. Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites. APIS : advanced papyrological information system (connect | more information)"APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts"--About the Project. Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 (connect | more information)Series One - Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 - offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy leading to the Partition of 1948. Arts & humanities citation index (connect | more information)The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database that covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes more than 1,144 arts and humanities journals, from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Australian dictionary of biography (connect | more information)The Australian Dictionary of Biography Online website is the Internet version of the ADB's traditional print volumes. The biographical articles published in the first online edition are those found in the printed ADB: Volumes 1 to 16 in the continuing series and the Supplementary Volume. The database contains over 10,000 scholarly biographies of significant Australians who died before 1980. Later print volumes of the ADB will be incorporated in the online edition. Australian Federation full text database (connect | more information)This database provides access to the key primary source texts of Australian Federation, including the official reports of the debates of the 1890s, the major participants' accounts and memoirs, as well as a number of important related texts. Australian newspapers beta : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954 (connect | more information)The Australian Newspapers Beta service allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains 70,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1954 and coverage is expanding weekly. The titles in the ANDP (as at July 31, 2008) include: Argus (Melbourne), Brisbane courier, Canberra times, Courier-mail (Brisbane), Hobart town gazette and southern reporter, Hobart town gazette and Van Diemen's land advertiser, Maitland mercury & Hunter River general advertiser, Mercury (Hobart), Perth gazette and Western Australian journal, South Australian advertiser and Sydney gazette and New South Wales advertiser. Australian Public Affairs Information Service : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (connect | more information)This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture. BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)
This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.
Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)Provides full-text access to about 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax. Brill online (connect | more information)Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles. British history online (connect | more information)This digital library contains some of the core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users in learning, teaching and research. Cambridge journals online (connect | more information)Provides full text access to over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. CAN : collections Australia network (connect | more information)The Collections Australia Network (CAN) portal is intended to be the public gateway to collecting institutions across Australia including the small to medium regional institutions. Besides providing access to nationwide information on Australia's cultural heritage, members of the public can also access an individual institution's own CAN website to explore its specific content. China academic journals full-text database (connect | more information)A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915, sourced from core journals and speciality journals from mainland China. Monash University Library has access to three of the ten series databases comprising 3, 350 journals - 1. Literature/History/Philosophy, 2. Economics/Politics/Law, and 3. Education/Social Science. CHRONICLES (connect | more information)Database resource designed to assist genealogists, historians and researchers locate biographical information on as wide a range of Australians as possible. Its entries point to biographical information in a wide variety of sources, including Who's Whos, biographical dictionaries, topical and local histories, and published family histories. Entries cover all periods of Australian history. Each record contains, where available, the full name of the person in question, together with details of birth date and location, death date and location, the source of the entry, and whether or not a photograph or illustration of the person was included in that source. Each record contains only those details that were included in the particular source. chronology of Australian historic & current events : AUSCHRON (connect | more information)Information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current events, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Source documents for current events include main state and territory papers, chiefly "The Age" and "The Australian" and national news journals, reports and other publications. For historical events source documents include contemporary records such as explorer's journals and newspapers, books and journal articles. Subject coverage includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with reference to significant current events from 1993 to the present. Historical dates deal with events from earliest Dutch discoveries to the end of 1992. Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (connect | more information)Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 is a fully searchable database of over 22,000 British Government records or almost 180,000 images or pages taken from PRO class FO 371 in The National Archives at Kew. It provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary research resource, and allows this unique primary source material (predominantly in English, but containing some documents in a variety of Western European languages) to be quickly accessed by academics and students, writers and researchers. In addition to document files from The National Archives this digital edition includes a picture gallery illustrating key British operations, SOE equipment and individuals, clips from Now it Can Be Told from the Imperial War Museum, London, showing actual SOE agents reconstructing sabotage and intelligence operations in occupied France, a film begun in complete secrecy in 1944 and released in 1946, and The Chronology and Index of the Second World War, 1938-1945, compiled by The Royal Institute of International Affairs. Contemporary women's issues (connect | more information)Contemporary Women's Issues is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Digital South Asia library (connect | more information)The Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries, is a global collaborative effort to make important and rare South Asian resources available to the international community. Domesday book : Britain's finest treasure (connect | more information)In 1085 William the Conqueror commissioned a survey to discover the resources and taxable values of all the boroughs and manors in England. He wanted to discover who owned what, how much it was worth and how much was owed to him as King in tax, rents, and military service. The result was the Domesday Book. The Domesday Book survives as two volumes, Little Domesday and Great Domesday, and both can be searched on this site. Searching can be by names of places or people, or by folio reference, and scanned images can be downloaded, along with a modern English translation. Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment (connect | more information)This first release of Early Encounters in North America (EENA) contains approximately 10,250 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Early English books online (connect | more information)This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format. Economist : historical archive 1843-2003 (connect | more information)This database features more than 8,000 issues of The Economist since first publication in 1843. It delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Eighteenth century journals II (connect | more information)Online journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. Topics covered include the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century, including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press. Empire online (connect | more information)This database is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (2003); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (2003/4); The Visible Empire (2004/5); Religion and Empire (2005/6); and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (2006/7). The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia. English short title catalogue (connect | more information)Bibliographic records for over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly but not exclusively in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Engraved music, maps, and prints are excluded, although atlases and texts which are wholly engraved do appear in ESTC. Some other categories of material are excluded, for example trade cards, playbills and playing cards. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing). Feminae : medieval women and gender index (connect | more information)Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies. Gutenberg-e (connect | more information)A series of digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship produced in collaboration with the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press. Each e-text may offer extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites. House of Commons parliamentary papers (connect | more information)HCPP online is a major source for information on 19th and 20th-century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. Includes all sessional papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-2003/04, including Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. Monash University Library has access to the following collections: 19th century (1801-1900) and 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA In the first person (connect | more information)In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals, In the First Person indexes first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes - those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world. With selective full text and/or audio. Index Islamicus (connect | more information)Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present. Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database. Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology. IngentaConnect (connect | more information)Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers. Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)MedHist is a free catalogue of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge. Also provides a searchable calendar of events. Iraq, 1914-1974 (connect | more information)Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers (over 68,650 pages or approximately 400 British government files on Iraqi affairs). It presents British government and diplomatic documents -- dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents -- covering the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political history of Iraq in the 20th century, from the outbreak of World War I to the emergence of Saddam Hussein as a leading member of the revolutionary Ba'ath party in the 1970s. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life. London's past online : a bibliography of London history (connect | more information)Produced by the Centre for Metropolitan History in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography, London's Past Online is a free online bibliography of published material relating to the history of the Greater London area. MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. Making of America (connect | more information)A searchable digital collection of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, consisting of approximately 5000 books and journal volumes with imprints between 1850 and 1877. The collection is strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion and science and technology. making of modern law : legal treatises 1800-1926 (connect | more information)Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible. making of the modern world] (connect | more information)This database provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages allows researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. It is derived from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Mass observation online (connect | more information)Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation founded in 1937 to record everyday life in Britain. This online resource contains primary material gathered by Mass Observation from 1937-1955, including diaries and questionnaires sent in by its panel of volunteers, and research gathered by paid investigators in the form of File reports and Topic collections. The collection includes works by Mass Observation founders Tom Harrisson, Charles Madge and Humphrey Jennings, and photographer Humphrey Spender, as well as contributions by volunteer panellists Nella Last and Naomi Mitchison. Medieval travel writing (connect | more information)Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothe¿¿que nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universita¿¿tsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, O¿¿sterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives. MIHILIST : Australasian military history database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes articles from published material on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics. Source documents are 14 major periodicals for articles on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand, and Papua-New Guinean military history, and some published monographs. Coverage: 1987 to 1999. MILITARYnetBASE (connect | more information)Exploring war history, weaponry, superpower politics, and the cold war, as well as terrorism and current security concerns, this site, featuring works from Routledge, offers the authoritative data and diverse commentary that both scholars and policymakers require. Up to 116 titles are available for searching or browsing. New York times : archive (connect | more information)Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2002. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.The database covers a span of issues currently not covered by any other electronic resource. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link nineteenth century (connect | more information)Bibliographic index/catalogue to the Nineteenth Century publishing programme on microfiche of English language books first published between 1801 and 1900 held in the British Library. The publications are organized into eleven main sections and their coverage is described on this site. The brief catalogue records provided in the online index include publication details, subject headings, fiche number and British Library shelfmark. The Nineteenth Century General Collection: society and culture microform collection is held at Deakin University and the Specialist collections are held at other Universities. Oxford dictionary of national biography (connect | more information)The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003. Oxford Islamic studies online (connect | more information)"Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated ... Encompassing over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience."--About page. OzLife : Australian biography index (connect | more information)OzLife was a selective index to articles about prominent Australians appearing in major Australian newspapers from September 2000 to July 2005. Until September 2002 Ozlife also indexed book reviews on works of Australian fiction and non-fiction which appeared in Australian journals and newspapers. It contains over 48, 000 records. Active indexing in OzLife ceased in July 2005. PAIS archive (connect | more information)
PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).
PAIS international (connect | more information)
This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PANDORA : Australia's web archive (connect | more information)PANDORA archive is an outcome of the Library's PANDORA Project. It was established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and is now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations. The purpose of the PANDORA Archive is to collect and provide long-term access to selected online publications and web sites that are about Australia, are by an Australian author on a subject of social, political, cultural, religious, scientific or economic significance and relevance to Australia. parliament rolls of medieval England (connect | more information)Contains searchable full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504, together with a general introduction, separate introductions for each parliament, and appendices containing supplementary materials. Also includes over 100 specimen images of the original rolls. PictureAustralia (connect | more information)PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra. Provides distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects. Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950 (connect | more information)Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents. Proceedings of the Old Bailey : London's Central Criminal Court, 1674 to 1913 (connect | more information)"A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."--Homepage. Project Muse (connect | more information)Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences. ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
RAMBI : the index of articles on Jewish Studies (connect | more information)RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. Reason in revolt (connect | more information)The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. By 'radical' we refer to those who aimed to make society more equal and to emancipate the exploited or oppressed. As it grows and develops, the project website will become an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society. Reference guide to holocaust literature (connect | more information)Provides biographical and critical essays on 223 writers connected to or concerned with the Holocaust, as well as separate essays on 307 of their works. Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (connect | more information)RAAM provides researchers with a convenient, centralised register of locations for primary research material. It does not provide detailed descriptions of the collections themselves; rather, it alerts researchers to the existence of collections and enables them to pursue further enquiries about the material, either online or through direct contact with repositories. Royal Historical Society bibliography (connect | more information)The Royal Historical Society bibliography, which is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research, University of London, is an authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. SEDAC : Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (connect | more information)Search a distributed system of catalogs held at SEDAC and other federal, regional, state, and international organizations. These catalogs contain metadata records describing data sets and other resources available from the Earth, natural, and social science communities. Smithsonian global sound for libraries (connect | more information)Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes. Also, various musical collections will be available for purchase and immediate download. Users may browse by country, genre, cultural group, language, instrument, artist, ensemble, album, label, or category, such as American Folk, American Indian, Jazz, Spoken word and sounds, and Children's or conduct an advanced search. Testaments to the Holocaust (connect | more information)This digital resource offers the unique resources of the World's oldest Holocaust museum, including documents and rare printed materials from the Wiener Library, London. Alfred Wiener fled Germany in 1933 and established his collection in London. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Thesaurus linguae Graecae (connect | more information)The TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of the Byzantium in 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture. Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (connect | more information)Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to the end of December 1985. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. TLS, the Times literary supplement centenary archive (connect | more information)More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the Times Literary Supplement, a leading journal of the world's literary and cultural activity. Times Literary Supplement Subscriber Archive covers October 1994 onwards in full text. Visual history archive (connect | more information)The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive provides access to over 50,600 video interviews conducted with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. These testimonies were collected in 56 countries and in 32 languages. The majority of the interviews are with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust. Political prisoners, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, homosexuals, Jehovah's Witnesses, and liberators, witnesses, rescuers, and aid providers also provided testimony. Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (connect | more information)"This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history ... The website provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question"--"About" page.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|