Skip to content | Change text size

Health sciences

Key resources

CINAHL (connect | more information)

International coverage with a US emphasis. Worth searching for Australian information by including Australia$ as a search term. There are more than 18,000 records with full text now included, plus links to Journals @ Ovid to which the Library subscribes. Most English language nursing journals are included. Strong coverage of publications by the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing (U.S.). Nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice are also indexed. Other health areas covered include emergency services, health education, radiology and health informatics.
On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)

    Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
    See also:
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations
    Medline 1950 to present with daily update
    OldMedline 1950-1965
    Medline in-process & other non-indexed citations,Medline daily, MEDLINE and OldMedline 1950-present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Proquest health & medical complete (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Health and Medical Complete combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. It provides in-depth coverage from over 1,200 publications with more than 965 available in full text and of these, over 770 include MEDLINEżż indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    PsycINFO (connect | more information)

    PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
    See also:
    PsycINFO 2000 to present
    PsycINFO 1985 to present
    PsycINFO 1967 to present
    PsycINFO 1806 to present
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     


    Other resources

    Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health bibliography : ATSIhealth (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian indigenous health. Source documents include journals, theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.

    AccessMedicine (connect | more information)

    A repository of medical knowledge, the AccessMedicine site provides access to the Clinical Library, comprising titles which have various interactive features, and also to the LANGE Educational Library, made up of electronic text reproductions of selected print medical education titles (non-interactive). Also includes sections entitled Guidelines, Quick Access Medicine, LANGE Case Files and Laboratory Values.

  • Includes full text
  • AgeLine (connect | more information)

    AgeLine is a searchable electronic database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging from a cross-disciplinary approach. It includes books, articles from over 300 magazines and journals, and research reports and videos. All references include original abstracts. The database covers English-language literature from many countries.

    AMED : allied and complementary medicine (connect | more information)

    A bibliographic database of journal articles on allied and alternatives to conventional medicine. Subjects covered include: complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    AMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Meditext

    Anatomy.tv (connect | more information)

    Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. Leading practitioners in each field provide explanations of the illustrations.

  • Includes full text
  • AusportMed (connect | more information)

    AusportMed is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Subject coverage includes medicine, health, biomechanics, psychology, diagnosis, treatment, nutrition diet, physiology, physical fitness and drugs in sport.

    Australian public affairs information service : health (connect | more information)

    Australian bibliographic database tha indexes articles from published material. Subject coverage includes the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Source documents include a wide range of journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.

    Australian sport database : AUSPORT (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport. Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes.

    Biological abstracts (connect | more information)

    Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
    See also: Biological Abstracts 2002 - 2006
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    BIOSCIENCEnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Full-text handbooks and monographs covering topics including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.

  • Includes full text
  • Books@Ovid (connect | more information)

    The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts.

  • Includes full text

  • On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    CRCnetBASE (connect | more information)

    A collection of online databases providing a portal to some of the world's major reference works, scientific journals and other resources. Covers a wide range of areas of scientific research from Toxicology, Engineering, Chemistry to Neuroscience, Mathematics and others.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    EMBASE.com (connect | more information)

    EMBASE.com provides access to over 16 million validated biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from EMBASE and MEDLINE (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). The database can be searched by field, drug, disease and article. Journal titles can also be browsed.

    Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior (connect | more information)

    Update to the MLR first edition of 1995. The content emphasis is on updating of both topics and statistics across a broad spectrum. Specifically addressing the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, the volumes explore not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of food and culture (connect | more information)

    Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Entries range from 250 to 10,000 words each and are supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of public health (connect | more information)

    Aimed at the non-specialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, this set is appropriate for upper class high school and university students, professionals, and public library patrons. Examines topics as broad in range as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries.

  • Includes full text
  • eTG complete (connect | more information)

    Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include: 1. Therapeutic Guidelines -- Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Oral and Dental, Palliative Care, Psychotropic, Respiratory, and Rheumatology. 2. Management Guidelines -- Developmental Disability.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    Faculty of 1000 medicine (connect | more information)

    Faculty of 1000 Medicine is a scientific literature awareness tool. This online research service comprehensively and systematically highlights and evaluates the most interesting papers published in medicine, based on the recommendations of 2,500 leading international researchers and clinicians. Faculty Members submit short evaluations of 2-3 interesting articles that they have read in the previous month, providing an article rating ...Evaluations are systematically organised according to subject keywords and are cross-linked to make it easy for users to find evaluations of interest to their specialty. Users can also customize the service to their interests and opt for regular updates by email, including stored searches on keywords of interest, at a frequency that suits them.

    Family & society plus (connect | more information)

    Indexing, abstracting and full text (some journals) database provides access to the scanned images of articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Source documents include journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government publications, research reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, annual reports, bibliographies and theses. Training and curriculum material and other media such as videos are also indexed. Subject coverage includes child development, adolescence, marriage and divorce, adoption, foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, health policy and services, population studies, social and community services, child care, family economics, employment.

  • Includes full text
  • FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)

    This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families.

  • Includes full text
  • FreeBooks4Doctors : promoting free access to medical books (connect | more information)

    Provides links to free medical textbooks available online. Users may search by title or broad subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • H&S : health & society database (connect | more information)

    Covers health policy and administration, health services, economic issues, mental health and illness, pregnancy, birth, mortality, morbidity, health education and promotion and ethical aspects such as abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies as they relate to the health and well being of Australian families and individuals. Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Health & Society is a subset of the Family database and indexes articles from published and unpublished materials, such as journals, conference papers, book chapters, government publications, statistical documents, annual reports and theses.

    Health and psychosocial instruments (connect | more information)

    Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychology, psychosocial sciences, organisational behaviour and library and information science. Covers questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    HIVA : HIV/AIDS database (connect | more information)

    HIVA, Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection, is a bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. It is designed to provide invaluable information support for health care professionals, students, researchers, and people living with HIV/AIDS. It covers the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS, as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS.

    Household products database (connect | more information)

    This database links over 7,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

  • Includes full text
  • Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • International bibliographic information on dietary supplements (IBIDS) database (connect | more information)

    Over 730,000 citations on the topic of dietary supplements from four major database sources: biomedical-related articles from MEDLINE, botanical and agricultural science from AGRICOLA, worldwide agricultural literature through AGRIS, and selected nutrition journals from CAB Abstracts and CAB Health.

    International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (connect | more information)

    This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Describes all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. The online edition is browsable, searchable and includes regular updates.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. Health & life sciences (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)

    MedHist is a free catalogue of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge. Also provides a searchable calendar of events.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)

    BioethicsWeb offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering biomedical ethics.

  • Includes full text
  • Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying (connect | more information)

    Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. Coverage of topics is broad and multi-disciplinary.

  • Includes full text
  • Management guidelines : developmental disability (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • MD Consult (connect | more information)

    The CD Consult Core Collection helps physicians answer clinical questions and stay abreast of recent developments by integrating: 49 respected medical reference books; over 71 medical journals and clinics; PDFs available for many Elsevier journals and clinics (dating back to 2002); comprehensive drug information; more than 1,000 clinical practice guidelines; over 5,000 customizable patient education handouts; and more.

  • Includes full text
  • Meditext (connect | more information)

    Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields.

  • Includes full text
  • MIMS online (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the full MIMS database of abbreviated and full information (including OTC) on prescription and non-prescription drugs available in Australia. Full colour product identification pictures are available.

  • Includes full text
  • MSDS Australia (connect | more information)

    Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products.

    MSDS database (connect | more information)

    MSDS is a comprehensive database of more than 310,000 Material Safety Data Sheets, obtained directly from 2,000 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Each sheet, representing a common industrial or commercial chemical, provides detailed chemical and physical properties, health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on storage and handling, spill and disposal procedures, accidental release, personal protection and first aid. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service. On average, over 60,000 records are added or replaced each quarter.

    Nutrient Data Laboratory (connect | more information)

    NDL's mission is to develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods available in the United States.

    NUTRITIONnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Contains the latest authoritative information on nutrition in health and disease, sports nutrition, phytonutrients, the cancer-diet connection, and oxidative stress. Up to 99 titles are available for browsing or searching.

  • Includes full text
  • NUTTAB 2006 (connect | more information)

    A nutrient composition database containing nutrient data for foods. It enables users to search for food and nutrient data using an electronic search function. Includes additional information such as the reference list, measures information, and a file comparing the foods available in NUTTAB95 with NUTTAB 2006.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • OT seeker (connect | more information)

    OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

    OTDBASE : O.T. journal search service. (connect | more information)

    "OTDBASE, a Canadian-based and Canadian-developed occupational therapy journal literature search service, is the only internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 5000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present."--http://www.caot.ca/otnow/july01-eng/july01-otdbase.cfm.

    PEDro : physiotherapy evidence database (connect | more information)

    PEDro is a free, web-based database of evidence relevant to physiotherapy. It contains citations of over 5,500 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, abstracts and links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided.

    POPLINE (connect | more information)

    POPLINE(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 350,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles and many abstracts in French and Spanish.

    PubMed (connect | more information)

    Free access to Medline, the premier source for biomedical literature, plus the National Library of Medicine's inprocess database. PubMed indexes over 4,600 journals covering topics such as allied health, biological and physical sciences, biomedical engineering, clinical medicine, humanities and information science as they related to medicine and health care. The Clinical Queries service provides built-in search filters that retrieve human clinical research studies on diagnosis, aetiology, therapy or prognosis, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PubMed also links to a number of other National Library of Medicine (NLM) resources including molecular modelling and genetics resources, consumer health information, clinical trials database and the TOXNET cluster of databases.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: MEDLINE | MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations | TOXNET

    RURAL : rural and remote health database (connect | more information)

    RURAL, a bibliographic database produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, covers a range of areas including rural medical practices, indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, the practice and educational needs of health care providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. There is international coverage of journal articles, some conference and discussion papers.

    Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Social services abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major topics covered include: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, gerentology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    SPORTDiscus with full text (connect | more information)

    With over 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text ia a bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes more than 750,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

  • Includes full text
  • Therapeutic guidelines. See: eTG complete (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Trip database (connect | more information)

    The TRIP Database searches web sites with high-quality medical information. A search on the TRIP Database links directly to relevant 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as to articles from peer-reviewed on-line journals and e-textbooks. Clinical areas: cancer, cardiovascular, child health, endocrinology, gastrointestinal, HIV/AIDS, infectious diseases, mental health, musculoskeletal, neurology, pregnancy and childbirth, respiratory care, women's health.

  • Includes full text
  • U.X.L. complete health resource (connect | more information)

    This resource covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of 140 health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues. Includes a general glossary, bibliography, and subject index.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases