| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Ethics<-- ethicssearchssi.shtml -->Key resourcesAMI : Australasian medical index (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 160 Australian health and medical journals, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE. Some key Australian journals which are also covered in MEDLINE have been indexed since 2001. Other source documents include conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. Emphasis is on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. See also: Meditext APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Biological abstracts (connect | more information)
Of interest to all levels of students and other researchers, Biological Abstracts is the foremost source of references to the life science journal literature including vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine (experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine), biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology and environment, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. International coverage of over 4,000 journals with about 14% of these sourced from Asia and Australasia. About 90% of records in the database include an abstract.
Cochrane library (connect | more information)A key resource for evidence-based medicine that integrates clinical expertise with systematic research, especially in relation to the effects of health care. Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CochraneDSR), the Database of abstracts of reviews of effects (DARE), the NHS economic evaluation database, the Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) and the Health technology assessment database. Search results are usually a mix of full text systematic reviews, structured abstracts and citations with abstract. Guide to Cochrane Library -developed by the Australian NICS group. See also: EBM Reviews CochraneDSR DARE CENTRAL MEDLINE. See: Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE (connect | more information)
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
POPLINE (connect | more information)POPLINE(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 350,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents, the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles and many abstracts in French and Spanish. PubMed (connect | more information)Free access to Medline, the premier source for biomedical literature, plus the National Library of Medicine's inprocess database. PubMed indexes over 4,600 journals covering topics such as allied health, biological and physical sciences, biomedical engineering, clinical medicine, humanities and information science as they related to medicine and health care. The Clinical Queries service provides built-in search filters that retrieve human clinical research studies on diagnosis, aetiology, therapy or prognosis, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PubMed also links to a number of other National Library of Medicine (NLM) resources including molecular modelling and genetics resources, consumer health information, clinical trials database and the TOXNET cluster of databases. See also: MEDLINE | MEDLINE in-process & other non-indexed citations | TOXNET
Other resourcesAcademic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)
This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.
Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)
Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Intute. Health & life sciences. (connect | more information)BioethicsWeb offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering biomedical ethics. Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Project Muse (connect | more information)Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|