Skip to content | Change text size

Cultural studies

AfricaBib.org (connect | more information)

The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). Also available is a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

  • Includes full text
  • AltPressIndex (connect | more information)

    Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

    AltPressIndexArchive (connect | more information)

    "Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page.

    Aluka (connect | more information)

    "Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa ... The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides."--History and mission page. The three main content areas are: 1. African cultural heritage sites and landscapes. 2. African plants. 3. Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa (focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe).

  • Includes full text
  • Berg journals collection (connect | more information)

    "The Berg Journals Collection offers ... online access to the full text of an expanding range of highly respected, interdisciplinary and peer-reviewed journals with a strong focus on culture and the visual arts. A choice of 16 journals is available within the Collection in 2010."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Brill online (connect | more information)

    Brings together major online reference works from respected academic publisher, Brill, under one platform, with the ability to cross-search multiple titles.

  • Includes full text
  • digital culture art course (connect | more information)

    Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.

    E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)

    Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of food and culture (connect | more information)

    Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Entries range from 250 to 10,000 words each and are supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of modern Asia (connect | more information)

    Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally.

  • Includes full text
  • Euro-islam (connect | more information)

    "This website intends to provide continuous information and analysis on the most important cultural and religious changes Western Europe is experiencing. We are a network on comparative research on Islam & Muslims in Europe, composed of scholars and doctoral students ... In News, you will find the most recent headlines on Islam and Muslims across Western Europe. In Events, you will know about conferences/ meetings from universities, political institutions or NGOs that concern Islam in Europe. In country profiles, you will learn about Muslims in specific European countries." -- Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • History culture series (connect | more information)

    "History Culture Series is a multi-media content database dedicated to Korean history and culture. Developed for school use by professors, researchers, and museum curators, History Culture Series allows users to store and download text and photos easily and quickly for use in the classroom. An English version of ZININZIN will be produced in DVD format to foster an understanding of Korean history and culture outside of Korea."--Database description, eKorean studies.

    International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text (connect | more information)

    [A database] for the study of theatre and the performing arts. [It] was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. [The database] contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books and monographs.--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • International encyclopedia of marriage and family (connect | more information)

    Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages. Includes articles specific to countries and religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

  • Includes full text
  • Jewish encyclopedia (connect | more information)

    This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.).

  • Includes full text
  • Korean history & culture research database (connect | more information)

    Korean History & Culture Research Database is a full-text collection of excavation reports of historical sites in Korea operated by national and university museums and private research institutions and associations since 1910. It also contains research papers, reports, catalogs, and maps related to Korean geography, history, folklore, and architecture.

  • Includes full text
  • Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.

    PictureAustralia (connect | more information)

    PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra. Provides distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects.

    Reason in revolt (connect | more information)

    The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource. By 'radical' we refer to those who aimed to make society more equal and to emancipate the exploited or oppressed. As it grows and develops, the project website will become an expanding record of the movements, institutions, venues and publications through which radicals sought to influence Australian society.

  • Includes full text
  • Rock's backpages (connect | more information)

    Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.

  • Includes full text
  • Sixties (connect | more information)

    "The Sixties ... brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary ... Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • World Digital Library (connect | more information)

    The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials. The objectives of the World Digital Library are to promote international and inter-cultural understanding and awareness, provide resources to educators, expand non-English and non-Western content on the Internet, and to contribute to scholarly research. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

  • Includes full text
  • YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases