Skip to content | Change text size

Communication

Key resources

Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Communication & mass media complete (connect | more information)

    Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.

  • Includes full text
  • Communication studies : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)

    The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)

    Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: This database works in best in Firefox

    ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    TVNews (connect | more information)

    TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.

     


    Other resources

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Arts & humanities citation index (connect | more information)

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database that covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes more than 1,144 arts and humanities journals, from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

    Chicago manual of style online (connect | more information)

    The tools presented here by the University of Chicago Press will be of use to writers, editors, and publishers at other organizations who are looking for models for procedure and content. Tools include: Examples of Chicago-Style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts. This site also incorporates the Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style, and queries return results that are distinguishable from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Encyclopedia of communication and information (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • In the first person (connect | more information)

    In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals, In the First Person indexes first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes - those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world. With selective full text and/or audio.

  • Includes full text
  • Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • International encyclopedia of communication online (connect | more information)

    The online version of a 12-volume reference spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Arrangement of 1,400 newly-commissioned A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas. Updated several times per year.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest social science journals (connect | more information)

    This database covers a wide range of disciplines within the social sciences including addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, and more. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest telecommunications (connect | more information)

    The database includes 130 titles, with more than 105 available in full text. Topics covered include computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and radio and television.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Sage journals online : with access to Sage full text collections (connect | more information)

    The SAGE Full-Text Collections are discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in [various fields], published by SAGE Publications and participating societies. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals. Also provides full text access to subscribed titles. Monash University Library has full text access to the following collections: 1. Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 2. Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1955 - current -- 3. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1926 - current -- 4. Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1912 - current -- 5. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1944 - current -- 6. Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1952 - current .

  • Includes full text
  • Social sciences citation index (connect | more information)

    The Social sciences citation index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 scientific disciplines.

    Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Source documents include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Major areas of subject coverage include: culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organisations; mass phenomenon and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business and education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; and, women's studies.
    If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

    Sociology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies). The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text

  • If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA

     

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases