Skip to content | Change text size

Banking & finance

Key resources

Business source premier (connect | more information)

Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: ABI/INFORM global

    Econlit (connect | more information)

    Leading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles. Also indexes essays, research and working papers, books, dissertations and book reviews.

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    WRDS : the path to business intelligence (connect | more information)

    A Web-based data management system providing access to a wide range of financial, economic data, including stock market indices, bond prices, interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series and financial historical data. Of greatest relevance to honours, postgraduate and staff researchers. The Monash subscription comprises the following data providers: Audit Analytics, Bureau Van Dijk, Compustat, CRSP, CSMAR, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics and RiskMetrics (formerly IRRC). WRDS also provides access to a compilation of free access data sets.

    For help see: Monash Related WRDS FAQ

     


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM dateline (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from over 170 U.S. local and regional business journals, newspapers and news magazines. It focuses on providing access to business information on large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance,and industry news not typically found in U.S. national news sources. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ABI/INFORM trade & industry (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from more than 1,000 business periodicals and newsletters with an industry and trade focus. Includes the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Covers publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian financial review quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text

  • Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998

    Banking and finance reports of Australia (connect | more information)

    "Takes a broad view of what constitutes a banking and finance case and offers a compilation for the convenience of practitioners. The cases reported raise issues that are important for banking and finance law and are covered within the commentary of the service. All cases reported include a specially prepared headnote focusing on the specific banking and finance issues raised and prepared by practitioners experienced in banking, finance, insolvency and related areas." -- Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Banking information source (connect | more information)

    News and information on trends and issues in the banking and finance industry (US emphasis). Includes full text for selected journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    BankScope : world banking information source (connect | more information)

    Information on over 26,500 (13,000 US) banks around the world including: 16 years of detailed accounts (country specific "as reported" and standardised), ratios, ratings and rating reports, ownership, country risk and country finance reports. Includes a financial analysis software program.

  • Includes full text

  • Available only on Australian campuses. No off campus access.

    Blackwell encyclopedia of management (connect | more information)

    An authoritative reference for management, accounting, managerial economics, finance, information systems and marketing disciplines.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to about 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Business and Economics research databases (connect | more information)

    The Monash University Faculty of Business and Economics annotated list of selected research databases. It includes, but is not limited to, resources subscribed to by the Faculty and which are limited to access in the Faculty by research students and staff. Each listing includes a description of the resource and contact details for obtaining further information.

    Business collection (connect | more information)

    Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.

  • Includes full text
  • CBCA business (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database containing citations and selected abstracts for articles from up to 500 Canadian business journals, including trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications. Includes full text for selected titles.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Datastream (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

    A worldwide financial database covering global securities pricing, company fundamentals, economics, and other historical time series data. It provides coverage of over 30,000 equities, including next day and historical data, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives data and commodity prices.
    Location: Caulfield Library Information Desk
       Matheson Library Reference Standalone

    EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • ECONOMICSnetBASE (connect | more information)

    Offering up to 580 full text titles from Routledge, this database covers the broad areas of economics, business management and public administration.

  • Includes full text
  • EIU ViewsWire (connect | more information)

    The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. From within the Economist Group it uses material from the Economist itself, CFO Magazine and the Journal of Commerce, the Financial Times, the BBC Monitoring division, China Online and the OECD, among others. Offering in-depth coverage of 195 countries, EIU ViewsWire delivers decision support for doing business in fast-changing world markets, highlighting up to 250 important economic, political and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical briefings on their implications for business.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    Expert reports (connect | more information)

    A database comprising specialist reports which have been produced on behalf of the ASX Listed companies since 1992.

  • Includes full text
  • GDF online (connect | more information)

    GDF Online provides access to statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, as well as summary data for regions and income groups. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios, as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files.

  • Includes full text
  • GIBLIN : Giblin working papers database (connect | more information)

    Index to business and economics working papers from Australia, Europe, and the United States held at the Giblin Library, University of Melbourne. Coverage: 1990 to 2006.

    IBIS World (connect | more information)

    Detailed analyses of selected Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Reports updated at least annually, and in some cases quarterly. Only selected reports are available in full (as "Opened Items").

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Please note that you may be asked for a password when using this database.
    Note: Only the reports listed under "Opened Items" are available.
    Do not click the Request button as no action is taken on requested or pending reports.

    International financial statistics (STANDALONE CD-ROM | more information)

    law relating to banker and customer in Australia (connect | more information)

    "Thomson has been progressively developing Weaver & Craigie: The Law Relating to Banker and Customer in Australia to make it a "one-stop-shop" for banking and financial services information ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint." -- Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Mergers & acquisitions (connect | more information)

    This database includes Parts A and B or Parts C and D associated with mergers and takeovers in Australia. Companies are listed by name together with their status. The full narrative of each report is listed, including: Offer descriptions, Experts' reports, Directors' recommendations, Statutory information, Linked document sets.

  • Includes full text
  • NBER working papers (connect | more information)

    A database of the full text of working papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research. It can be searched by keyword or browsed by Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) class or NBER Program. It also provides links to various other NBER publications.

  • Includes full text
  • New issues (connect | more information)

    Provides access to placements, rights and entitlement issues, bonus issues and initial public offerings made by Australia's publicly listed companies. Lists and reports based on a range of parameters can be generated. Lists can also be downloaded in spreadsheet format.

  • Includes full text
  • SA ePublications (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive.

  • Includes full text
  • Social Science Research Network (connect | more information)

    Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative composed of a number of specialized research networks, including accounting, law, economics, accounting, and finance. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 160,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 127,400 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications. -- Home page, viewed September 18, 2007.

  • Includes full text
  • SourceOECD (connect | more information)

    SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres. Subjects covered include: economics, business, social sciences, development, statistics, environment, education, agriculture, investment, finance and governance.

  • Includes full text
  • Statistical database system : SDBS (connect | more information)

    Asian Development Bank's database that stores macro-economic and social data of its developing member countries (DMCs). Data in SDBS come from statistical contacts that are mostly national statistics offices and central banks of the DMCs ... [and] data from other international organizations databases and websites. This Internet version of SDBS, however, contains only data that are freely accessible by the public, from 1988 to 2005. Those data that are in pay for access databases of other international organizations are not presented here. The 2006 figures will be available in June 2007.

  • Includes full text
  • Takeovers (connect | more information)

    Provides an in-depth summary of every takeover of an ASX listed company in Australia from 1997 onwards. Direct links are provided to the original takeover documents which are available in MS Word and PDF format. All information can also be downloaded in spreadsheet format.

  • Includes full text
  • World Bank e-Library (connect | more information)

    The World Bank e-Library is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development, an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,500 World Bank documents. Includes all current and recent World Bank titles, documents and papers. Titles are available on or about publication date of the print edition.

  • Includes full text
  • World development indicators (connect | more information)

    WDI Online provides access to statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for 228 countries, as well as data for regions and income groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files.

  • Includes full text
  • World insurance sigma (connect | more information)

    Sigma world insurance data covers 93 countries and 17 regional aggregates around the globe, and includes direct premiums of life and non-life business in USD and local currency, real growth rates, premiums per capita in USD and premiums as a % of GDP.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases