Skip to content | Change text size

Australian studies

Key resources

AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)

AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Informit (connect | more information)

    Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc.

     


    Other resources

    AHB : Australian heritage bibliography (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures.

    Australian dictionary of biography (connect | more information)

    The Australian Dictionary of Biography Online website is the Internet version of the ADB's traditional print volumes. The biographical articles published in the first online edition are those found in the printed ADB: Volumes 1 to 16 in the continuing series and the Supplementary Volume. The database contains over 10,000 scholarly biographies of significant Australians who died before 1980. Later print volumes of the ADB will be incorporated in the online edition.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian journals online (connect | more information)

    AJOL is the National Library of Australia's database of Australian electronic journals, newspapers, magazines, webzines, newsletters and e-mail fanzines. The database provides details and links to over 2000 titles that include local and overseas works with Australian content, authorship and/or emphasis as well as entries for sites which advertise or promote Australian journals.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian newspapers beta : historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954 (connect | more information)

    The Australian Newspapers Beta service allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains 70,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 1954 and coverage is expanding weekly. The titles in the ANDP (as at July 31, 2008) include: Argus (Melbourne), Brisbane courier, Canberra times, Courier-mail (Brisbane), Hobart town gazette and southern reporter, Hobart town gazette and Van Diemen's land advertiser, Maitland mercury & Hunter River general advertiser, Mercury (Hobart), Perth gazette and Western Australian journal, South Australian advertiser and Sydney gazette and New South Wales advertiser.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Public Affairs Information Service : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture.

  • Includes full text
  • CHRONICLES (connect | more information)

    Database resource designed to assist genealogists, historians and researchers locate biographical information on as wide a range of Australians as possible. Its entries point to biographical information in a wide variety of sources, including Who's Whos, biographical dictionaries, topical and local histories, and published family histories. Entries cover all periods of Australian history. Each record contains, where available, the full name of the person in question, together with details of birth date and location, death date and location, the source of the entry, and whether or not a photograph or illustration of the person was included in that source. Each record contains only those details that were included in the particular source.

    chronology of Australian historic & current events : AUSCHRON (connect | more information)

    Information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current events, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Source documents for current events include main state and territory papers, chiefly "The Age" and "The Australian" and national news journals, reports and other publications. For historical events source documents include contemporary records such as explorer's journals and newspapers, books and journal articles. Subject coverage includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with reference to significant current events from 1993 to the present. Historical dates deal with events from earliest Dutch discoveries to the end of 1992.

    eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)

    eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files.

  • Includes full text
  • Empire online (connect | more information)

    This database is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering approximately 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 (2003); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire (2003/4); The Visible Empire (2004/5); Religion and Empire (2005/6); and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (2006/7). The images will be sourced from about ten different libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library, including the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library; the University of Birmingham Library; the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and the Public Record Office and the State Records, New South Wales, Australia.

  • Includes full text
  • FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)

    This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families.

  • Includes full text
  • FNQ : Far North Queensland collection (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database covers the geographical region of Far North Queensland, from Ingham in the south to Doomadgee in the west and encompassing the Torres Strait, Gulf, Cape York Peninsula, Daintree and the Atherton Tableland. Source documents include books, magazines, articles, videos, pamphlets, brochures, reports, submissions, newspapers, tapes and posters. Coverage: 1994 to 1999.

    Indigenous Australia (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, Hansard, cases and judgements, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and videos. Abstracts for all videos, and some books and articles are included. The geographic scope includes international, national and, some state and local coverage.

    MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies.

    MAIS-ATSIS (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database is a subset of the MAIS database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. The MAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia.

    MIHILIST : Australasian military history database (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes articles from published material on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics. Source documents are 14 major periodicals for articles on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand, and Papua-New Guinean military history, and some published monographs. Coverage: 1987 to 1999.

    Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)

    Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: This database works in best with the Firefox

    OzLife : Australian biography index (connect | more information)

    OzLife was a selective index to articles about prominent Australians appearing in major Australian newspapers from September 2000 to July 2005. Until September 2002 Ozlife also indexed book reviews on works of Australian fiction and non-fiction which appeared in Australian journals and newspapers. It contains over 48, 000 records. Active indexing in OzLife ceased in July 2005.

    PANDORA : Australia's web archive (connect | more information)

    PANDORA archive is an outcome of the Library's PANDORA Project. It was established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and is now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations. The purpose of the PANDORA Archive is to collect and provide long-term access to selected online publications and web sites that are about Australia, are by an Australian author on a subject of social, political, cultural, religious, scientific or economic significance and relevance to Australia.

    PictureAustralia (connect | more information)

    PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the National Library in Canberra. Provides distributed searching of pictorial images held on the web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia. Participants include National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial, Australia Heritage Commission, National Archives of Australia and others. These images cover all areas of Australiana, featuring people, places, events and objects.

    Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (connect | more information)

    RAAM provides researchers with a convenient, centralised register of locations for primary research material. It does not provide detailed descriptions of the collections themselves; rather, it alerts researchers to the existence of collections and enables them to pursue further enquiries about the material, either online or through direct contact with repositories.

    VICNAMES : the register of Geographic Names (connect | more information)

    This database holds more than 190,000 road and place names, including landscape features such as mountains and rivers, bounded localities such as suburbs, towns, cities and regions, and physical infrastructure such as roads, reserves and schools.

     

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases