| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
Australian lawKey resourcesAGIS Plus Text (connect | more information)AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 400 titles are indexed. See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase CaseBase (connect | more information)CaseBase is a citator and annotator of cases from over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. It provides a guide as to whether a case has been followed, distinguished or overruled by later judgments with coloured signals to flag positive, negative, or cautionary treatment. Journal articles that comment on the case are included. Alternative off campus access FirstPoint (connect | more information)FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825. All case material is classified to a detailed classification scheme, which can be browsed or searched to locate cases on legal topics. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest (published by Lawbook Co.). See also CaseBase. LAWLEX (connect | more information)Provides access to full-text Australian legislation, with associated Bill tracking, amendment & commencement information and links to related material, such as Second Reading speeches. Title, keyword or subject searches are available. A good first stop for finding Australian legislation. See also: AustLII Monash Staff only - to set up up a profile for email alerts follow the instructions.
Other resourcesAFPD : Australian Federal Police digest (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished materials on policing, criminology and related fields. Source documents include selected Australian and overseas journals, conference papers, and book chapters.
AGIS-ATSIS (connect | more information)The AGIS-ATSIS database is a subset of AGIS that contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. See also: CINCH | APAIS APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
APEC literature database : APECLIT (connect | more information)Focus includes economic cooperation, international trade and trade law, labour and development issues, environment and tourism. Indexes journals (including Australian titles), books, academic papers, reports and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1988 to 2002. ASIC digest (connect | more information)This digest compiles the current literature of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission on its activities under the Corporations Law and other national scheme laws. ASIC Digest helps you to understand ASIC Regulatory Guides, Class Orders, Information Sheets and includes an executive summary of recent developments. The online version is updated when developments occur and features a minimum of twelve updates per year. AustLII (connect | more information)Provides full text searching of publicly available Australian primary legal materials such as Commonwealth and state consolidated acts and regulations, treaties and decisions of federal and state courts and tribunals. Extensive secondary legal materials such as law reform and royal commission reports, etc. are also included. Includes extensive links to other Australasian, Asian and international legal resources on the Internet. See also: Lawlex Australian encyclopaedia of forms & precedents (connect | more information)Contains over 4,000 ready-to-use legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law. It includes a range of legal procedures and concepts, sample documents and forms. Introductory notes explain the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicate where and when each should be used. Precedents are drafted in plain English, by experienced practitioners in leading law firms and from the bar. Australian encyclopaedic legal dictionary (connect | more information)A searchable database of legal definitions supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, including: jurisprudential and criminological terms; explanations of well known rules and principles of law; international law terms, treaties and conventions; translations of Latin legal words and phrases; descriptions of landmark decisions of the High Court of Australia; and biographical entries. There are links to additional citations in Australian Legal Words and Phrases, and to full-text law report series on LexisNexis AU. Alternative off campus access Australian legal journals index (connect | more information)ALJI allows browsing or searching through journal abstracts, cases referred to, legislative references, and key-citing information by jurisdiction. Includes links to 20 full text online journals, authorised and specialist law reports. Database also contains over 100,000 abstracts from over 400 legal journals. Compiled by the Commonwealth Attorney General's Lionel Murphy Library since 1971. Australian legal words and phrases (connect | more information)A comprehensive index to words and phrases defined in Australian legislation or interpreted and considered in judgments of the superior courts from 1900 to date. Provides over 100,000 words and phrases and complete details of where the word or phrase has been defined and the context in which it is defined. See also: Australian encyclopaedic legal dictionary Alternative off campus access Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Australian Public Affairs Information Service : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (connect | more information)This bibliographic database is a subset of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. The APAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include scholarly Australian journals, monographs, newspapers and conference proceedings. Limited articles from overseas publications are also included. Specific subject coverage includes history, economics, politics, current affairs and culture. Banking and finance reports of Australia (connect | more information)"Takes a broad view of what constitutes a banking and finance case and offers a compilation for the convenience of practitioners. The cases reported raise issues that are important for banking and finance law and are covered within the commentary of the service. All cases reported include a specially prepared headnote focusing on the specific banking and finance issues raised and prepared by practitioners experienced in banking, finance, insolvency and related areas." -- Thomson catalog. Bankruptcy in Australia : a guidebook (connect | more information)"A practical service where the chapters follow the natural order of a bankruptcy proceeding, taking the user through all the necessary steps with analysis and detailed discussion ... The online version of this service has all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force."--Thomson catalog. Building & construction contracts in Australia (connect | more information)The purpose of this service is to assist parties to building contracts, their consultants and advisors, understand the complexities of building contracts. The authors guide you through the major concepts and forms of building and construction contracts, making this an essential tool for drafting and negotiating these contracts. The commentary includes extensive analysis of the contractual principles relating to building negotiations and disputes, precedents, references to cases that have been relevant to contract law and the law of evidence in general as applied to construction contracts, relevant parts of State Supreme Court Rules, Security of Payment legislation, practice directions and notes and extracts from the Evidence Act 1995 (NSW). CCH online (connect | more information)Provides online access to selected Australian CCH titles and loose-leaf services. These publications cover topics such as corporations law, family law, industrial law, taxation and, occupational health and safety. Commentary, case law and legislation are included. Publications can be browsed or searched. See also: CCH Solution Finders for Corporations law, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, OHS, Superannuation, Tax, and Trade Practices. See also: Solution finder : corporations law Solution finder : human resources Solution finder : industrial relations Solution finder : OHS Solution finder : superannuation Solution finder : tax Solution finder : trade practices CINCH : Australian criminology database (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. CINCH-ATSIS (connect | more information)The CINCH-ATSIS database is a subset of CINCH that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the justice system. Commercial contract clauses : [principles and interpretation (connect | more information)"Commercial Contract Clauses ... is the first systematic analysis of the process of construing and interpreting commercial contracts on a clause by clause basis, to the benefit of Australian lawyers ...The work opens with topics where knowledge is often wrongly assumed - the process of construing a contract, and issues regarding the operation of deeds. The authors then move to areas of difficulty for lawyers."--Thomson catalog. Company receivers and administrators (connect | more information)"Provides a practical insight into company receivership and insolvency practice and is the only service devoted exclusively to company receivership, deeds of company arrangement and voluntary administration ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint."--Thomson catalog. Corporations legislation (connect | more information)"Designed for use by practitioners, business professionals and anyone with an interest in corporations law ... Confirm the text of the legislation, quickly and easily with this essential resource. Currency can also be easily sourced by the list of amending instruments at the end of the act or regulation."--Thomson catalog. Expert evidence (connect | more information)"Expert Evidence is an essential resource for preparation and case presentation by litigation lawyers (both civil and criminal), forensic specialists and any expert engaged in investigations and hearings. It combines comprehensive analysis of legal principle with extensive technical treatment of over 75 Expert Witness fields. Major English language international case authorities are referred to and discussed, and academic research publications from around the world are cited as references."--Thomson catalog. FAMILY : Australian family & society abstracts database (connect | more information)This Australian bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to Australian families. FAMILY-ATSIS (connect | more information)The FAMILY-ATSIS database is a subset of FAMILY that contains records that specifically relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Halsbury's laws of Australia (connect | more information)This legal encyclopaedia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia organised by subject area and covering all nine jurisdictions. Statements of legal principles and propositions of substantive law are supported by references to primary authority (cases and legislation). See also: Laws of Australia Alternative off campus access Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology. INTAX : international taxation issues database (connect | more information)Index, produced by the Australian Taxation Office, to Australian and overseas journals dealing with international taxation issues. Coverage: 1990 to 2003. law handbook online (connect | more information)"The Law Handbook Online contains information on areas of the law that most often affect people in everyday life [in Victoria]. It is designed for the consumer who wants to be better informed about the law and more self-reliant in using it."-- Home page. Includes Law Handbook online services directory, a searchable database of all organisational contacts from the Law handbook, and a discussion forum. law relating to banker and customer in Australia (connect | more information)"Thomson has been progressively developing Weaver & Craigie: The Law Relating to Banker and Customer in Australia to make it a "one-stop-shop" for banking and financial services information ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint." -- Thomson catalog. Lawbook online. See: Legal online (connect | more information)
laws of Australia (connect | more information)This legal encyclopaedia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia organised by subject area and covering all nine jurisdictions. Statements of legal principles and propositions of substantive law are supported by references to primary authority (cases and legislation). Lawyers practice manual Victoria : online (connect | more information)"The manual's overall aim is to assist subscribers to gain practical insight quickly by providing a step-by-step guide with an overview of the law relevant to each practice area covered, supported by tools, eg, practical hints, precedents, letters and standard forms. After 20 years this manual is well established as an integral part of the legal fraternity in Victoria ...The online version of this publication has been significantly upgraded in its functionality with the addition of links to cases and statute references mentioned in the text. There are also internal cross-referencing links between chapters within the service."-- Thomson product description. Legal online (connect | more information)Access is provided to selected databases such as Australian Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Law Reports, Federal Court Reports, Australian Digest, Australian Legal Monthly Digest, The Laws of Australia and the Australian Case Citator. In case the above link is not working, please use this password for access. Requires IE 5 or higher. LexisNexis (connect | more information)The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly. Alternative access McPherson's law of company liquidation (connect | more information)"Company liquidation is one of the most active areas in insolvency. The authors Michael Gronow and Ros Mason write from the perspective of guiding liquidators and those representing creditors and contributories through the processes of winding up: modes of winding up and applications for winding up by creditors, contributories and others; commencement and effects of winding up; duties, functions and status of liquidators; available assets and their distribution regime; investigations, examinations and prosecutions; termination of winding up and relevant private international law."--Thomson catalog. Media and Internet law and practice (connect | more information)"Media and Internet Law and Practice is the only service of its kind in Australia. It brings together the diverse sources of law for all forms of media, including the internet and on-line services .... the service covers emerging forms of media, including internet, datacasting and Pay TV, narrowcasting, as well as "traditional" media such as print, radio and television. Media, in all its forms, is rapidly changing, especially as we enter the "Information Age". The service is updated regularly, to keep abreast of current developments and to provide a focus on the legal and other challenges, presented by this rapid change."--Preface to revised ed. Modern contract of guarantee (connect | more information)"Provides users with a thorough knowledge of the law relating to guarantees, including a complete analysis of relevant case law. This knowledge enables: solicitors and barristers to minimise financial risk to their clients and fully prepare for litigation; banking and finance professionals to understand their legal obligations and duties to customers and third parties in order to minimise the risk of loan default and costly litigation."--Thomson catalog. Native title infoBase (connect | more information)The Native Title Infobase includes selected material commencing from 1839 to the present day and covers all aspects of native title. It gives reference to Australian material including journal articles, book chapters, books, conference papers, reports and press clippings. It also includes relevant material from other jurisdictions such as New Zealand, United States, Canada, Africa and Asia. ParlInfo search (connect | more information)"ParlInfo search enables everyone to search and obtain Australian Parliamentary information resources including Hansards, Bills, Senate Journals, Votes and Proceedings, Notice Papers, Committee reports, Parliamentary Handbook, newspaper clippings, media, publications and much more. It will also search for information located on the Australian Parliament website."--Home page. Principles of the law of trusts (connect | more information)"This highly respected service is a "one-stop shop" paying detailed attention to the underlying general principles and the impact of recent developments in trust law. It also offers a general and comparative view of trusts legislation in all Australian jurisdictions and assists in interpreting the meaning of comparative Acts in the local jurisdiction."--Thomson catalog. Publications.gov.au (connect | more information)Publications.gov.au provides assistance to people searching for Australian Government publications and provides links to publications and other resources on the websites of Australian Government agencies, and in the National Library of Australia catalog of Australian Government publications held by Australian libraries. Solution finder : corporations law (connect | more information)CCH solution finder corporations law is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian corporations law information. Information in topic areas such as regulation, commentary, ASIC rulings, newsletter articles, cases, forms and many others, are covered by this valuable information gateway. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : human resources (connect | more information)CCH Human Resources Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of human resources information. Enables searching across all the Australian legislation, cases, commentary, news and articles, checklists and benchmark surveys regarding issues relating to termination and redundancy, leave and holidays, managing people, superannuation and employee benefits, etc. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : industrial relations (connect | more information)CCH Industrial Relations Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of industrial relations information. Allows searching across CCH's extensive industrial law library, including legislation, cases, commentary, news and articles regarding issues relating to termination and redundancy, leave and holidays, superannuation and employee benefits as well as many others at a topic level. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : OHS (connect | more information)CCH OHS Solution Finder is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of occupational health and safety information. Enables searching across all the Australian legislation, cases, commentary, best practice and news regarding issues on OHS obligations, workers compensation, risk management, incident notification, emergency management, psychological risks, recordkeeping, rehabilitation, training, and consultation requirements. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : superannuation (connect | more information)CCH solution finder superannuation is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian superannuation information. Allows searching across the whole range of superannuation taxation or superannuation regulation or compliance issues, such as: CCH's expert superannuation taxation and regulation commentary, all relevant Acts, Regulations and pending legislation, APRA, ASIC and ATO circulars and releases, all tax and superannuation cases, including all Superannuation Complaints Tribunal determinations, and the very latest superannuation news and articles. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : tax (connect | more information)CCH solution finder tax is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian taxation information. Provides ability to search simultaneously across CCH's Australian Federal Tax Reporter, Premium Master Tax Guide, Tax Navigator for Business, Capital Gains Tax Planner, GST Guide, Superannuation Law and Practice, FBT Guide for Employers, International Tax Agreements, as well as news and key source materials. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Solution finder : trade practices (connect | more information)CCH solution finder trade practices is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian trade practices information. Covers the breadth and depth of the Trade Practices Act, Sales and Fair Trading legislation, Consumer Credit codes as well as related case law and compliance procedures. For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial Sound education in Victorian law (connect | more information)Sound Education in Victorian Law is a monthly audio update service of all the latest in Victorian law news, case law and legislation. Subscriber First website also contains the vast library of technical papers on which [audio] programs are based, making it a great research tool. -- publisher's product description. TAXABS : Australian taxation abstracts database (connect | more information)Indexes and abstracts technical information on all aspects of taxation. Coverage: 1992 to 2003. TaxPoint (connect | more information)This service combines more than 50 databases including: News services covering the latest tax news and issues; Tax commentaries covering taxes such as capital gains, superannuation and fringe benefits tax; Analytical services covering commentary-style services for a detailed understanding of federal taxation law; Source materials covering primary materials such as legislation, cases, rulings, bills and explanatory memoranda. Unreported judgments (connect | more information)Unreported Judgments offers a comprehensive service of unreported judgments. Sourced from the High Court, Federal Court, Federal Magistrates Court, Industrial Relations Court, Family Court and State Supreme Courts, Unreported Judgment offers subscribers a regularly updated infobase, with new cases being added daily. Victorian courts (connect | more information)Extensive coverage of the essential legislation, practice materials, case law and commentary that practitioners require [for Victorian Courts]. Legislative change and judicial activity in Victoria are constantly increasing and the updating programme of the service must keep pace with these changes to ensure quality and timeliness of its content. Coverage is across all jurisdictions and at all levels - from the Magistrates Court to the County and Supreme Courts for both civil and criminal matters. -- Database provider description. Victorian Supreme Court unreported judgments (connect | more information)The Victorian Supreme Court Library holds a collection of Judgments dating back to the 1950s. Most of the unreported judgments have been scanned into electronic format, and are available through links on the judgment catalogue record. Where a judgment has been officially reported there is no link, but the catalogue record will show a citation to the relevant Law Report. Until the 1980s there was no formal system for collecting these judgments, so the earlier holdings are very incomplete. (Therefore, the Library does not necessarily hold a complete collection of ALL judgments of the Victorian Courts). For recent Victorian Supreme Court judgments, please use Austlii. WorkplaceInfo (connect | more information)News and information on human resources and industrial relations in Australia. Note: This database is restricted to academic staff and students only
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|