| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
AstronomyCSIRO journals (connect | more information)Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Emilio Segreżż visual archives (connect | more information)A collection of more than 25,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, the Emilio Segreżż Visual Archives focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times. Encyclopedia of astronomy and astrophysics (connect | more information)Covering the entire field of astronomy and astrophysics, this online encyclopedia includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus search and retrieval functionality, links to the primary literature, and is frequently updated with new material. Main subject areas covered include: cosmology; galaxies; interstellar medium; stars; solar system; sun; earth; coordinates, time and motion; instrumentation and observational techniques; theoretical concepts and tools; space missions; organisations and institutions; history and archaeastronomy; amateur astronomy, education and public impact. Engineering village (connect | more information)This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world. INSPEC (connect | more information)Database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing and information technology. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world. Intute. Science, engineering, & technology (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. MathSciNet (connect | more information)MathSciNet is a bibliographic database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It is created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered. Scitation (connect | more information)Provides full text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as American Society of Civil Engineers journals. Subject coverage includes physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, and materials science. Web of science (connect | more information)Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching. Wiley InterScience (connect | more information)A searchable database providing full text access to journals, books, reference works, databases and current protocols published by Wiley. Searching across multiple publications and browsing within specific publications is possible. Subject areas which can be browsed include: business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology and, social sciences.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|