| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
ArtKey resourcesArt full text (connect | more information)This is an indexing database with selected abstracts and full text articles covering the full range of art. English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish are included. Subjects covered include: advertising art, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial, design, interior design, landscape architecture, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, textiles, Off-campus users who are having access difficulties may use this alternative link. Licence restrictions: Restricted to 5-8 simultaneous users. ARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. Subject coverage includes: performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Bibliography of the history of art (connect | more information)
This bilingual bibliographic database covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. It indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from more than 4,819+ journals and other materials.
DAAI : design and applied arts index (connect | more information)
This indexing and abstracting database provides access to more than 500 design and craft journals. Also contains 2 directories, or supplementary databases: education directory and periodicals directory. Subject coverage includes: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Grove art online See: Oxford art online (connect | more information)
Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page. Restricted to 5 simultaneous users
Other resourcesAPAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Arts hub (connect | more information)Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry. Artsjournal.com : the daily journal of arts, culture & ideas (connect | more information)Monitors and collects stories from more than 200 English language newspapers, magazines and publications that write about the arts, and posts links directly to selected stories on free access sites. Also links to art sections of newspapers, magazines and other publications and provides an archive of stories organised by arts genre. ARTstor (connect | more information)Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. AustArt : Australian art journals index (connect | more information)This is a citation database which indexes Australian art journals held in the College of Fine Arts Library at the University of New South Wales. Subject coverage includes: art, architecture, ceramics, craft, design, and film. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Australian visual arts databases (connect | more information)
AVAD is an online reference resource on visual arts in Australia and is made up of 3 main resources. 1) NATSIVAD (National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Visual Arts Database), consisting of 5,500 artist records and includes biographical information about indigenous Australian visual artists; 2) ARTEX, a listing of exhibition catalogues from public and commercial galleries in Australia; and, 3) ARIADNE, a survey of in-house indexing across a wide range of arts libraries throughout Australia.
CAN : collections Australia network (connect | more information)The Collections Australia Network (CAN) portal is intended to be the public gateway to collecting institutions across Australia including the small to medium regional institutions. Besides providing access to nationwide information on Australia's cultural heritage, members of the public can also access an individual institution's own CAN website to explore its specific content. Contemporary fashion (connect | more information)A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. Dictionary of Australian artists online (connect | more information)The Dictionary of Australian Artists Online (DAAO) provides biographical data, contextual information, commentary and images. Providing authoritative, contemporary information, the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online facilitates, promotes and encourages scholarship on Australian artists. Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Film index international (connect | more information)Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. Gemini G.E.L. online catalogue raisonne¿¿ (connect | more information)Cataloge raisonne¿¿ of the works published by Gemini G.E.L. (Graphic Editions Limited), a publishing workshop in Los Angeles. Artistic works include prints in lithography, etching, woodcut and screenprint, often used in combination, as well as sculpture in diverse media. Scope of the database is presently from 1966 to 1996 but more items will be added in the future. Information is based on the Gemini documentation sheets for each item and includes artist, title of work, fabrication notes and other remarks. The image of each item is included. Index translationum : international bibliography of translations (connect | more information)Trilingual cumulative citation database (English/French/Spanish) which contains books translated and published in about 100 of Unesco's member states since 1979 in all disciplines. Journal citation reports. Social sciences edition (connect | more information)This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,500 journals in the area of social sciences worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. MSDS Australia (connect | more information)Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products. Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Prints and printmaking : Australia, Asia, Pacific (connect | more information)"Prints and printmaking Australia Asia Pacific provides a gateway for information on printed images from Australia and the Asia Pacific region. Based on the Australian print collection at the National Gallery of Australia there is free online access to over 22,000 images. The databases can be searched by artist, subject or print techniques such as etching, woodcut, wood-engraving, linocut, lithograph, screenprint, monotype and other print related processes such as posters and artists books. Index to online information on printmakers, print workshops, print publishers, print galleries and public and private collections." -- Home page. ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading electronic database providing indexing and abstracting of over 7,000 scholarly and general interest publications. It includes full text or full image coverage of more than 3,000 of these publications. It provides access to the combined information from a number of leading online databases which cover subjects including: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
Rhizome.org (connect | more information)Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files. ScienceDirect (connect | more information)ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. Web of knowledge (connect | more information)
ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science (for science, social science and humanities), Current Contents Connect and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science) may be accessed through this online resource.
YARP : your arts prizes (connect | more information)"Yarp provides detailed information about arts prizes, residencies, scholarships, grants and fellowships from around Australia. From the smallest regional arts prizes right through to the largest, high profile prizes, prize monies vary from $50 to hundreds of thousands of dollars worth. Each record [in the database] includes prize opening date, prize closing date, exhibition date, prize pool total, entry fee costs, whether prize is acquisitive or not, prize website, entry restrictions, details of the prize including breakdown of individual prize categories and dollar values for each, medium/s of prize, genre of prize, organisation contact details, venue contact details, [and] individual contact details where available."--Scope of the database.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|