| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
ArchitectureKey resourcesAvery index to architectural periodicals (connect | more information)
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects.
Other resourcesAHB : Australian heritage bibliography (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects include aboriginal rock art sites and historic buildings and structures. APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Art full text (connect | more information)This is an indexing database with selected abstracts and full text articles covering the full range of art. English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish are included. Subjects covered include: advertising art, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial, design, interior design, landscape architecture, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, textiles, Off-campus users who are having access difficulties may use this alternative link. Licence restrictions: Restricted to 5-8 simultaneous users. ARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. Subject coverage includes: performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ARTstor (connect | more information)Searchable database of more than 300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. Australian architecture database]: ARCH (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from material held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Source documents include journal articles, exhibition reviews, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, project articles and award features. Subject coverage includes architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)
BEDP environment design guide (connect | more information)Aims to provide building design professionals with accurate, accessible, professional literature on how to reduce the environmental impact of the built environment. The BDP Environment Design Guide is a product of the Australian Council of Building Design Professions (BDP) and is produced as a service to the members of its constituent organisations and to the wider community. Covers information on topics such as building materials; major issues and trends such as environmental impact assessment, environmental legislation and liability and the implications for architectural design; practical information and advice on ecologically sustainable design strategies, technologies and materials. BUILD (connect | more information)BUILD indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering fields from 1989 to February 2002. Source documents include conference papers, journal articles, standards, building regulations, technical papers, reports and books. Subject coverage includes all aspects of building, construction and engineering, structural engineering, building regulations, urban and regional planning and fire technology. Aspects of economics, administration and management, and information technology related to building and construction are also included. Coverage: 1989 to 2002. Building code of Australia (connect | more information)
Licence restrictions: 9 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. DAAI : design and applied arts index (connect | more information)
This indexing and abstracting database provides access to more than 500 design and craft journals. Also contains 2 directories, or supplementary databases: education directory and periodicals directory. Subject coverage includes: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
ecospecifier (connect | more information)ecospecifier is a knowledge base of well over 3200 environmentally preferable products, materials, technologies and resources. ecospecifier assesses and presents information on sustainable and healthy materials, products, technologies, training and published materials relevant to building design and construction, fitout, and some operational functions. Allows sophisticated multi-criteria product search functions. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Grove art online See: Oxford art online (connect | more information)
Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology. Intute. Arts & humanities (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. Masters of architecture (connect | more information)An ongoing series of colour images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. It has been digitised from the original collection of 58 slide sets which were published between the mid '80s and 2003. It includes the complete Masters of Architecture series and some additional suitable slide sets (approximately 6,000 images, all fully searchable.) There will be regular additions of similar sets of digitised images which will be automatically added to the website. Material ConneXion (connect | more information)Materials ConneXion is the largest global resource of new materials. Its library houses over 3,500 new and innovative materials representing the eight categories of polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. Complete Library information is accessible via the Internet, using the Material ConneXion's database. Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching. Note: This database works in best with the Firefox Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page. Restricted to 5 simultaneous users Pidgeon digital (connect | more information)Online version of the Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes. Started in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon. RIBA British Architectural Library catalogue (connect | more information)Online catalogue providing access to the largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research on all aspects of architecture. RIBApix (connect | more information)Database providing unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Many of the images are also of social documentary importance. All images on this site are the copyright of the Royal Institute of British Architects, but low resolution copies may be downloaded free of charge for personal use or teaching purposes. Higher resolution copies suitable for most types of publication or conventional photographs for private use or publication may be ordered online. Sapling.info (connect | more information)Sapling.info is the architecture, planning & landscape information gateway featuring more than 1,100 reviewed links to architecture, planning and landscape-related websites. It is a free-to-access resource aimed at academics, students, professionals, practitioners, and anyone else with an interest in the areas of architecture, planning and landscape. Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed. Monash students and staff only Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. Additional users may be allowed guest access to search but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session. If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left - you should be able to get access anyway. Please note: - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright). - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line. VicMap topographic (connect | more information)The Vicmap Topographic 1:30000 series displays natural and constructed features on the ground including contours, rivers, streams, waterfalls, lakes, vegetation, roads, cliffs, localities, park boundaries, shipwrecks and more. The series is available in both A4 and A3 standard mapsheets, covers the entire State of Victoria, is provided in PDF ready to print, and is generated utilising the most currently available Vicmap data. The mapsheets are immediately retrievable in PDF, and created from the most up to date and maintained State Government Vicmap digital information.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|