| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
AnthropologyKey resourcesAnthropology plus (connect | more information)Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service Bibliography of Asian studies (connect | more information)Citation database of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences) published worldwide since 1971 to the present. Through 1991, BAS included citations to periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Since 1992, newly published individually authored monographs are not added to the database. IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. If the above link does not work you can use this link for access to CSA Indigenous studies bibliography : AIATSIS (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Source documents include journal articles, newspapers, pamphlets, government reports, conference papers, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents. All records relate to Australian Indigenous studies, and are in English with some in Australian Indigenous languages. The broad topic areas cover languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories, history, legal issues such as native title, criminal justice, land rights, customary law and its recognition, women's issues, youth issues, government policies and programs. TVNews (connect | more information)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries.
Other resourcesAcademic research library (connect | more information)From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link AltPressIndex (connect | more information)Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Australia's religious communities : a multimedia exploration (connect | more information)Explores the changing nature of religion in Australia. Looks at the various religions in the world and their traditions and background. BERITA : Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN database (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on articles on Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and other Southeast Asian countries. Source documents include journals, monographs, journal articles, articles in books and conference papers. Subject coverage includes archaeology, architecture, arts, biography, communication and media, education, law, literature, economics, geography, history, linguistics, science, medicine and health, philosophy, religion, politics, information science, travel and tourism. Also included are materials regarding the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN). Ciao : Columbia international affairs online (connect | more information)Designed as a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991, it includies working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences. Has links to over 160 international sites, environmental studies Web pages and news media services. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. European Center for Minority Issues (connect | more information)The European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. It serves European governments and regional intergovernmental organizations as well as non-dominant groups in the European area. The early monitoring, study and resolution of ethnic tension and potential conflict in all regions of Europe - East and West - provides one of the major focal points for the activities of the Centre. The HeinOnline library includes ECMI Reports and Working Papers, along with the Journal on Ethnopolitics and Minority Issues in Europe. Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Also available: Library online tutorials Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. GEOBASE (connect | more information)GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database that deeply indexes research literature across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, international development, oceanography and geomechanics. The database contains over 1.8 million bibliographic records taken from 2,000 scientific and technical journals. Online coverage is from 1980 to the present, and files are updated weekly. Indigenous Australia (connect | more information)This bibliographic database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ASTIC) Library. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, booklets and ephemera, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, Hansard, cases and judgements, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and videos. Abstracts for all videos, and some books and articles are included. The geographic scope includes international, national and, some state and local coverage. Informit (connect | more information)Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc. INTAN MAS (connect | more information)This is a bibliographic database that contains references to the literature on East Timor and Eastern Indonesia, on Australia's relations with Southeast Asia and with ASEAN and its member nations. Source documents include books, periodical articles and dissertations. The database is limited to the languages of Western Europe and Bahasa Indonesia and has selective coverage of colonial and present day government reports. Coverage: 1989 to 2002. Intute. Social sciences (connect | more information)"Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page. MAIS : multicultural Australia and immigration studies (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia. Subject coverage includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, migrant health, social access and equity, social services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Mura (connect | more information)Mura, the Aiatsis Library catalogue, includes bibliographic details of all Library materials. The Library contains comprehensive collections of print materials on Australian Indigenous studies. The Library's collections include manuscript materials, serials, language materials, books, rare books, art catalogues, newspapers, maps, posters and kits. The AIATSIS Audiovisual Archives hold film, video, recorded sound and pictorial materials. Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching. Note: This database works in best in Firefox PAIS archive (connect | more information)
PAIS Archive includes references to more than 700,000 journal articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and other English-language materials from around the world, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, (v.1-62, 1915-1976).
PAIS international (connect | more information)
This worldwide bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature covering the full range of political, social and public policy issues. It includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PERIND : periodicals index (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes periodical literature relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei, and ASEAN. Source documents include 270 core journals with some book reviews, review articles, editorials, letters, speeches, lectures, obituaries, legislative notes and clinical case studies. Subject coverage includes humanities, social sciences, business management, building, architecture, city planning, medicine, and law. Beginning from mid-1997, the database also covers book chapters and conference papers both published and unpublished. Most articles are mainly in English with a small number in Malay. Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number. ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats. One subset is included in the database, Dissertations & theses: A&I.
Proquest religion (connect | more information)The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections, the database is an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Public anthropology (connect | more information)Includes e-journals, Public Anthropology book series, as well as writings by distinguished anthropologists, and a photo gallery that depicts arresting images of people from a variety of cultures. It also includes an archive involving summaries for each article published by the American Anthropologist from 1888 to 2000. Includes two e-journals (Public Anthropology: Engaging Ideas and Public Anthropology: The Graduate Journal), Public Anthropology book series, as well as writings by distinguished anthropologists, and a photo gallery that depicts arresting images of people from a variety of cultures. It also includes an archive involving two summaries for each article published by the American Anthropologist from 1888 to 2000. SMC : Singapore/Malaysia collection (connect | more information)Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts items from published and unpublished material relating to Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and ASEAN. Source documents include microfilmed items of public records, government documents, serials, company reports, newspapers and manuscripts. It also includes academic exercises and theses submitted ot the National University of Singapore and its predecessor institutions. Subject coverage: Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN. Social sciences citation index (connect | more information)The Social sciences citation index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 scientific disciplines. Studies on women and gender abstracts online (connect | more information)This bibliographic database, which is international in coverage, focuses on education, employment, family, health, gender roles, social policy, psychology, culture, media treatment, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Journals, books and other materials are included.
Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online
enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat,
or phone +61 3 9905 5054 |
|