Skip to content | Change text size

Eighteenth century journals

Connect to Eighteenth century journals via Direct Connection

About this resource

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) . It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Monash University Library provides access to Eighteenth century journals II and to Eighteenth century journals III only.

  • Data Format: Text (HTML and PDF)

Subject headings

  • English newspapers--18th century--Indexes.
  • Eighteenth century--Periodicals--Indexes.
  • British newspapers--18th century--Databases.
  • British periodicals--18th century--Databases.
  • English literature--18th century--Sources.
  • Civilization, Modern--18th century--Sources.
  • Eighteenth century--Databases.
  • Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    See also
    Accessing databases