Skip to content | Change text size

Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950

Connect to Post-war Europe : refugees, exile and resettlement, 1945-1950 via Gale

About this resource

Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. Post-War Europe contains newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars. These essays offer an insight into key themes and provide direct links to the documents mentioned and a means to access for students unfamiliar with the original materials. Five documentary British Pathe films provide visual evidence of key issues covered by the documents.

  • Data Format: Text (HTML) and video files.

Subject headings

  • Migration, Internal--Europe--History--20th century--Sources--Databases.
  • Refugees--Europe--History--20th century--Sources--Databases.
  • Refugees, Jewish--Europe--History--20th century--Sources--Databases.
  • Political refugees--Europe--History--20th century--Sources--Databases.
  • Europe--History--1945---Sources--Databases.
  • Europe--Emigration and immigration--Databases.
  • Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    See also
    Accessing databases